1. The contestants were to create water structures for the 20th Terraining Contest. Choose one in the public poll!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Join other hivers in a friendly concept-art contest. The contestants have to create a genie coming out of its container. We wish you the best of luck!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Melee Mapping Contest #4: 2v2 - Results are out! Step by to congratulate the winners!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. We're hosting the 15th Mini-Mapping Contest with YouTuber Abelhawk! The contestants are to create a custom map that uses the hidden content within Warcraft 3 or is inspired by any of the many secrets within the game.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Anti-aliasing in War3 Tutorial

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous Tutorials' started by A Void, Jul 21, 2014.

  1. A Void

    A Void

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2,479
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    7
    Resources:
    10
    Anti-Aliasing in Warcraft 3



    Tools: Windows OS, Graphics Card Control Panel
    Difficulty: Easy


    This tutorial will be about enabling and using anti-aliasing in Warcraft III.


    What is Anti-Aliasing?

    Click Here


    Definitions:

    Video Card - A video card (also called a video adapter, display card, graphics card, graphics board, display adapter, graphics adapter or frame buffer and sometimes preceded by the word discrete or dedicated to emphasize the distinction between this implementation and integrated graphics) is an expansion card which generates a feed of output images to a display (such as a computer monitor). More information on Wiki.

    Anti-Aliasing - In computer graphics, antialiasing is a software technique for diminishing jaggies - stairstep-like lines that should be smooth. More information on Wiki.


    Now we shall begin by right clicking on desktop and selecting an option to enter Video Card Control Panel, a control panel for configuring your graphics card display and settings.
    Click Here
    [​IMG]

    Find "3D Application Settings" tab and right click on it:
    Click Here
    [​IMG]

    Notice: Different Video Cards have different control panel interface and settings, you may have to search for a similar option such as "3D Application Settings".

    Now let's add Warcraft III, you have to find "War3.exe" located in your folder and add it to the 3D Application Settings list:
    Click Here
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Now you can experiment with different types of Anti-aliasing settings, here are a few examples of normal type and highest type:
    Click Here
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Notice: Don't forget to save your settings!
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2016
  2. PurgeandFire

    PurgeandFire

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,420
    Resources:
    18
    Icons:
    1
    Spells:
    4
    Tutorials:
    9
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    18
    Nice. Approved.
     
  3. Chaosy

    Chaosy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10,567
    Resources:
    17
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    10
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    17
    This doesn't work for me. I am using nvida and not AMD. There isn't a list of games to choose from, I can change the anti aliasing in general settings but that's not the point?
     
  4. Bannar

    Bannar

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,086
    Resources:
    20
    Spells:
    5
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    14
    Resources:
    20
    @Chaosy, NVIDIA panel has almost everything like AMD one. Right click desktop to enter graphic panel. From the menu to the left, choose: Manage 3D settings.
    Now, your eyes will notice 2 cards: Global Settings (left), Program Settings (right). Choose the right one, select Warcraft3 The Frozen Throne from the program's list, and scroll a bit to anti-aliasing functions. Enjoy.
     
  5. A Void

    A Void

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2,479
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    7
    Resources:
    10
    Notice: Different Video Cards have different control panel interface and settings, you may have to search for a similar option such as "3D Application Settings".

    You have to search for a similar option.
     
  6. Chaosy

    Chaosy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10,567
    Resources:
    17
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    10
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    17
    I found it, there were a 'secret' tab that I didn't see. By default the setting is "Use Global Settings" which I have maxed. (16x)
     
  7. Heinvers

    Heinvers

    Arena Moderator

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8,012
    Resources:
    83
    Models:
    2
    Icons:
    50
    Packs:
    3
    Skins:
    25
    Template:
    3
    Resources:
    83
    It will only use 4x though. Warcraft support limit afaik.
     
  8. A Void

    A Void

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2,479
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    7
    Resources:
    10
    No it won't, if you looked in the screen-shots you can see the option to override Warcraft 3 anti-aliasing and force it from the video card on the game. The game's limit is overridden that means that you can have: 4x, 8x, 16x, 18x, 24x.
     
  9. Zwiebelchen

    Zwiebelchen

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,784
    Resources:
    11
    Models:
    4
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    11
    Too much AA is just making things blurry imho.

    Without proper Anisotropic filtering, Anti-Aliasing is useless.
     
  10. A Void

    A Void

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2,479
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    7
    Resources:
    10
    There is also an option to override anisotropic option and use it in Warcraft III from your video card panel. You can do that as well as you did with AA in this tutorial.
     
  11. Trigger.edge

    Trigger.edge

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    424
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    LoL +rep....
     
  12. daverave1212

    daverave1212

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    407
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    My life just changed :O
    Epic tutorial
     
  13. Cokemonkey11

    Cokemonkey11

    Wurst Reviewer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,221
    Resources:
    18
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    5
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    7
    Resources:
    18
    useless yes, but it shouldn't get blurry - that wouldn't be proper AA.
     
  14. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,279
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    That happens under two conditions.
    1. You are using post-processing AA. This is purely a visual filter which blurs to get AA like results.
    2. You are using incorrect gamma correction for your anti-aliasing type.

    Anti-aliasing only works correctly if you have correct gamma settings. If you are using an output gamma setting of 1 (not recommended, has other problems) then you have to enable "Antialiasing - Gamma correction" for the antialiasing results to appear correct otherwise they will appear darker than intended for the geometry. Like wise if you are using an output gamma setting of 2.2 (recommended, most displays are approximately calibrated to this) then you have to disable "Antialiasing - Gamma correction" or the antialiasing results will be too bright due to incorrectly applying correction when not required. Both of these could cause it to appear blurry because the pixel values are being computed incorrectly for the geometry causing it to bias towards either dark or bright colors.

    Anisotropic filtering is used with tri-linear filtering to improve the texture filtering result quality when viewing at oblique angles because otherwise the algorithm behind tri-linear filtering produces wrong results for oblique surfaces (blurs more than it should).
     
  15. A Void

    A Void

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2,479
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    7
    Resources:
    10
    Dude, stop talking about incorrect gamma, nobody cares about that. You can set gamma to whatever you like and it has nothing to do with anti-alising OR this tutorial.

    You already posted in other threads about "incorrect" gamma, no need to spam it.
     
  16. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,279
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    It does affect anti-aliasing. If you use gamma 1 you need to use "gamma correction" for anti-aliasing, an option on by default which is likely why it appears correct for your screenshots. If you use a correct gamma color space the results will be wrong unless you turn of gamma correction. Do note that I have read that AMD drivers fail to provide this setting for users forcing them to have gamma correct anti aliasing on all the time but that might have been solved at some stage.
     
  17. TheLastKnight

    TheLastKnight

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I just found Widescreen Fix and then this thread. Thank you guys.
     
  18. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,279
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    The gamma stuff in this thread is correct in theory but probably not in reality. I think Blizzard just did not care about gamma correctness in WC3, likely because they did not know/understand it.