• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 Hive's 6th HD Modeling Contest: Mechanical is now open! Design and model a mechanical creature, mechanized animal, a futuristic robotic being, or anything else your imagination can tinker with! 📅 Submissions close on June 30, 2024. Don't miss this opportunity to let your creativity shine! Enter now and show us your mechanical masterpiece! 🔗 Click here to enter!

Making a humanbody from scratch in Milkshape 3D

Level 30

Creating a proper mesh in milkshape3D

Part 1: Creating The mesh

Part 1.1: intro

Download the detailed video here.​

The main idea is that you create a primitive and deform it. I shall try to explain it like General Frank explained the extrude tool to me back when I was a newb: "When you use the extrude tool, The model is a bit like clay, you can pull clay (faces) out of it." The extrude tool can only be used on lanes, not on vertexes. But really, you should play around with it to experience the true power that lies within it for low poly modelling.

Selection tool
  • To select a vertex/face, left click it.
  • To add a vertex/face to your selection, shift + left click
  • To remove a vertex/face from your selection, shift + right click

Part 1.2: Making the mesh

So first I made a torso. This is where it always should start. After the torso was finished, I deleted the half of it. I did this because I can duplicate and mirror it any time so it will look like one piece of model. I also did this so I only have to make one leg and one arm, then duplicate the model, mirror it and now I have 2 legs and 2 arms and the model will be symetrical.

Part 1.3: Finishing the mesh