• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

X/Y Coordinates and Facing

Status
Not open for further replies.
it's not really facing per se, but what I need is to get a point between two points, using strictly x/y and no locations (I know I say points but I do really mean x/y only). Suppose I have point A, B and C. Point will C lie somewhere between point A and B. If I was using locations, I would simply use a polar offset, but I've never used x/y coordinates before :\

Let's assume that C is 100 units away from A, towards angle between A and B. How would I calculate for C's x/y? I'm assuming there will be some trigonometry involved.

It is very similar to polar offset (which is calculated through trig).

(1) Calculate the angle from A to B
(2) Calculate polar offset from A towards that angle

JASS:
function Example takes real x1, real y1, real x2, real y2 returns nothing
    local real angle = Atan2(y2 - y1, x2 - x1)
    local real newX = x1 + 100 * Cos(angle)
    local real newY = y1 + 100 * Sin(angle)
    // do stuff
endfunction

Note: I'm not 100% sure whether the coordinates should be swapped in Atan2(). If it goes in the wrong direction, just swap the coordinates or invert the angle.

This will calculate a point 100 units away from (x1, y1), on the line towards (x2, y2). The new coordinates are stored under 'newX' and 'newY'.