• Are you planning to upload your awesome tool to Hive? Please review the rules here.
    July 9, 2018: The rules for the Tool Section have been revised. Please be sure to read the revisions.

WidescreenRes - Final

This bundle is marked as approved. It works and satisfies the submission rules.
This Tool simply changes the resolution in wc3 to the resolution you are using on your desktop and in other applications, without you having to do anything else than download and run the program. You do not have to save the file, just use Open/Run when your browser asks you what to do!

Who should use it?
This program is used for people who can't choose widescreen resolutions in-game because their video card will not allow it in wc3, like me for example!

Optimized for all versions of Windows

Keywords:
screen, wide, widescreen, res, resolution
Contents

WidescreenRes - Final (Binary)

Reviews
00:12, 28th Dec 2008 Ralle: Good job.
Level 3
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
48
Vista 64bit
Failed:
An error occurred attempting to install Apply Wc3 WideScreen

Log:
An error occurred trying to download 'http://nununu.dk/private/jacob/AWC3WS/Apply Wc3 WideScreen.application'.
See the setup log file located at 'C:\Users\(Removed for privacy)\AppData\Local\Temp\VSD1539.tmp\install.log' for more information.
 
Level 9
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
431
Vista 64bit
Failed:
An error occurred attempting to install Apply Wc3 WideScreen

Log:
An error occurred trying to download 'http://nununu.dk/private/jacob/AWC3WS/Apply Wc3 WideScreen.application'.
See the setup log file located at 'C:\Users\(Removed for privacy)\AppData\Local\Temp\VSD1539.tmp\install.log' for more information.

Yeah, that's because my Server is done atm, I will get it up very soon! Or publish the program in a better way! Expect to see it today:wink:
 
Level 9
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
431
The new version is finished!

It's:
-Faster (You won't even see the loading cursor :grin:)
-Easier (New description & info)
-Smaller (Less file size)
-More compatible (It will work with framework 2.0+ insteed of 3.5+ now)
-Fixed, it won't connect to the internet no longer, thank you for the error report "crazy_spray" :thumbs_up:
 
Last edited:
Level 4
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
66
ok... I tested this little Prog on Win Vista 64

Works perfectly! BUT WC:III does NOT support resolutions higher than 1152x864px (this is the highest shown in my Option window!).
With your tool, higher res do WORK(!!) but the Grafic-Option-Menu shows a res of 640x480px!
If you don't klick this field, all will work!!!! (clicking will set the res to one of the awailible resolutions!)

just run the tool, and leave it like it is than!

greet's neXor

(rated 5/5)
 
Last edited:
Level 7
Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Messages
170
Omg it fixed windows 7!

OMG NICE TOOL!

I recently upgraded to windows 7 and noticed that I had to reconfigure my graphics card settings to get rid of the annoying black border some games had.

If you don't know what windows 7 black borders in games I'm talking about, well windows 7 had two black strips on the left and right sides of certain games and you couldn't make the resolution any higher.

But with this tool it fixed the black borders for Warcraft and it now looks awesome :p

Thank-you for your epic tool,
Lag_Reviews

PS: Think you can release the code so I can edit it to work for other games? please?
 
Level 9
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
431
OMG NICE TOOL!

I recently upgraded to windows 7 and noticed that I had to reconfigure my graphics card settings to get rid of the annoying black border some games had.

If you don't know what windows 7 black borders in games I'm talking about, well windows 7 had two black strips on the left and right sides of certain games and you couldn't make the resolution any higher.

But with this tool it fixed the black borders for Warcraft and it now looks awesome :p

Thank-you for your epic tool,
Lag_Reviews

PS: Think you can release the code so I can edit it to work for other games? please?

Other games wont work the same way, I would love to make a tool which worked with every game, but now I went through a lot of very famous games, and non' of them worked in the same way, all got a different ways to change the resolution.

For Warcraft 3, you can actually modify the resolution directly from the Windows Registry.
 
Level 3
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Messages
49
Already what I thought, though I gave it a try, but my doubts got confirmed.
This tool doesn't really change the resolution, it doesn't keep proportions, it just stretches the original resolution to fill up the widescreen.
In fact it is just like editing the registry.
Not that I want to badmouth your tool, but the above informations should be mentioned in your description under all circumstances!
 
Level 9
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
431
Already what I thought, though I gave it a try, but my doubts got confirmed.
This tool doesn't really change the resolution, it doesn't keep proportions, it just stretches the original resolution to fill up the widescreen.
In fact it is just like editing the registry.
Not that I want to badmouth your tool, but the above informations should be mentioned in your description under all circumstances!

Sounds like you've got a very special video-card. I'm sorry, but I can't help you with your problem. What this tool should do, is not to stretch anything or leave any black boarders, it's here to remove those two things.

I'm sure only very little people experience the same as you, so please, post your computer's specs so we can figure where the problem lies :)
 
I do not understand why this tool is needed. It is far safer and easier just to regeditor a fix than run a program that could potentially be dangerous (not that it is).

Because more than half of anyone that owns a computer has no idea how do do any of that, and would rather have something simple do it for them.
 
Level 3
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Messages
49
Sorry that I didn't reply earlier, but I have almost no sparetime left over the last and next weeks :angry:

post your computer's specs so we can figure where the problem lies :)
I have an Asus G73JH (a Notebook).
Look here.
Intel Core i7 720QM 1.6GHz,
8GB RAM,
1TB HDD (2x 500GB),
ATI HD5870,
Blu-ray,
Win 7 HP (64 bit)

What this tool should do, is not to stretch anything or leave any black boarders, it's here to remove those two things.
Thats very interesting!
But, then why do people always write about regedit?
With regedit it is just a stretch (in 1920x1080px, finally for me...)



EDIT:
What I noticed, on the 1st page Windows 7 isn't listed...
Operating System: Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 2000, Windows ME
Could this be the prob? :wink:

Here are three screenshots of my results as I said that the exe-fix just stretches my WC3-screen:
In normal mode (1400x1050x32):
normal1.jpg
In your fixed widescreen-mode (1920x1080):
widescreen1.jpg
widescreen2.jpg
 
Last edited:
Level 12
Joined
Apr 18, 2007
Messages
1,129
What it does is stretch textures, because the game engine makes it do that; notice it does not however stretch text. There's no change, because the game engine literally was not meant to render textures properly on a widescreen monitor; they weren't exactly all that popular back in 2002 when the engine was being developed.
 
Level 3
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Messages
49
What it does is stretch textures

After all...

"Already what I thought, though I gave it a try, but my doubts got confirmed.
This tool doesn't really change the resolution, it doesn't keep proportions, it just stretches the original resolution to fill up the widescreen.
In fact it is just like editing the registry.
Not that I want to badmouth your tool, but the above informations should be mentioned in your description under all circumstances!"
07-04-2010 10:53 AM

It stretches everything, except text!?
 
Level 1
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Messages
1
OMG OMG! this totally works!

gUYS Guys hear me out. This appis awesome it totally works!!! okay! trust me on this one! And its simple,just one click away. At the same time it also tells u ur screen resolution and ur os etc..

THIS WORKSS!

Btw i am using Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit.:ogre_rage::goblin_boom:
 
Top