• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[Role Playing Game] Warcraft lll - A turn-based RPG?

Would you like to see a 2D WoW-like turn-based RPG map in Warcraft 3?

• HELL YEAH!!

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Yes

Votes: 3 50.0%
  • Yes, but as a Co-op

Votes: 2 33.3%
  • Like your idea, but i wouldnt play it

Votes: 1 16.7%
  • Not really

• No

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.
Remember the classic internet game 'Murloc RPG'?

I've been dreaming of a Turn-based RPG in Warcraft 3 for awhile now, but I'm not a programmer myself...

Basic concept:

- A 2D prespective with by locking a low area of attack camera to the main character
- Arrowkey movement of main character (left, right, up to enter other area's)
- Classic turn-based RPG combat mechanics in a WoW-like enviorment
- Talent trees, abillity panels, equipment slots
- NPC's, Quests, Quest rewards, shops
- Enemies respawn while out of screen bounds
- Epic Backgrounds

If you like my idea and want to start a project with me, reply to this thread.
I'm good at terraining, creative thinking, decorating and a fair bit about basic triggers

Level 2
The idea sounds nice but i see more like the old final fantasy games where you have a world map and can enter villages. Key movement is a bit shitty with wc3.

But one thing will be important...solo or multiplayer? Multiplayer can be a bit tricky...when there is a fight...wait for other player can be annoying if you fight together or against each other...and only solo can be boring too.

Have have to make a big story to make this map interest.

Maybe you can make a battle system like in divinity...but those can be boring like i already say^^