1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Dismiss Notice
  5. The Highway to Hell has been laid open. Come along and participate in the 5th Special Effect Contest.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Very simple models

Discussion in 'Modeling & Animation' started by Screamernail, Jun 6, 2017.

  1. Screamernail

    Screamernail

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    244
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I will (At-least) try to make my first race by modeling in Blender! And by "very simple models" is that the textures are *Really Basic*. I'll upload a picture of how they will look like and ask, should i use them for myself? This is gonna be the first time i'll make some models for WC3 and i think that they won't be THAT great.


    But who knows, i am a quick learner.

    Aerch Repchi Folk1.png
     
  2. All_Time_Pro

    All_Time_Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Good luck!
     
  3. Screamernail

    Screamernail

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    244
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thank you!
     
  4. Cuore

    Cuore

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    583
    Resources:
    8
    Models:
    8
    Resources:
    8
    I use Blender sometimes, only to make untextured static meshes. I export from Blender as .FBX and load that file into 3dsMax for the texturing, rigging and animation, and the final export to .mdx.

    As far as I know, only 3dsMax or Gmax can be used to produce a .mdx file that works in warcraft 3, using the neodex plugin by @BlinkBoy & others. Blender has no similar plugin.

    I don't know, cause I never tried, and I ask other users: can Blender be used to set materials, place UV coordinates, rig a skeleton and animate in a way that is successfully transferrable to 3dsMax (presumably via .FBX)?

    My suggestion to the OP is that he makes sure that what he does in Blender can be exported to 3dMax before he works hours for nothing.
    I can confirm that static untextured meshes can be ported to 3dsmax, but no more that that.
     
  5. Screamernail

    Screamernail

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    244
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Well...

    Guess i can just ask someone to make some models of these.
     
  6. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,840
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Once upon a time there was a Warblender plugin. The creator stopped working on it years ago, it doesn't work on modern versions of Blender, and it never supported many features (like animations) in the first place.
    Blender is not the correct tool for Warcraft 3 models.
     
  7. Kyrbi0

    Kyrbi0

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,935
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I would suggest getting started by tinkering with existing standard & custom models in a 3rd party program such as Magos model editor, Mdlvis, and Matrix Eater. Eventually you'll be able to pursue "geomerging", which if you grow proficient in, should be quite useful.

    Good luck!
     
  8. Screamernail

    Screamernail

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    244
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Maybe i should try. I actually need to get something done eventually.

    But i'm pretty used by the single modeling screen in Blender. Do the other ones work similar?
     
  9. Kyrbi0

    Kyrbi0

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,935
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Magos has one screen, as does MdlVis. Matrix Eater has multiple, which can be useful to simultaneously see all the angles.
     
  10. Screamernail

    Screamernail

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    244
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I'll see to it.
     
  11. Screamernail

    Screamernail

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    244
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Everyone! I've gotten Gmax. Give me tips!
     
  12. Tauer

    Tauer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,323
    Resources:
    29
    Models:
    25
    Skins:
    4
    Resources:
    29
    I would definitely recommend using 3Ds Max instead of Gmax. But then again, I don't know how nicely Neodex plays with Gmax.
     
  13. Screamernail

    Screamernail

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    244
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Is it free? I haven't figured out how the thing worked yet.
     
  14. Tauer

    Tauer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,323
    Resources:
    29
    Models:
    25
    Skins:
    4
    Resources:
    29
    It is not, but you can get a free student license on their website.
     
  15. Screamernail

    Screamernail

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    244
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Yeah.

    Student
     
  16. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,840
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    You can actually write any credentials you want in the student fields. This just shows how much they don't care (and rightfully so) about people stealing their software. Now if you were a part of a company, or generally making money off of it, it's a whole different situation.
     
  17. Screamernail

    Screamernail

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    244
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    So i can just cheat? Sound logical.
     
  18. Tauer

    Tauer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,323
    Resources:
    29
    Models:
    25
    Skins:
    4
    Resources:
    29
    Not really cheating. If they didn't want people doing this, they wouldn't allow it. As GhostWolf says they don't give a rats ass if people "cheat". They only care if it's used for commercial purposes. People like us aren't even their target audience, companies/developers are. So yeah, just write anything you want and download it. They don't care.
     
  19. Screamernail

    Screamernail

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    244
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
  20. Alethos

    Alethos

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Messages:
    211
    Resources:
    6
    Models:
    6
    Resources:
    6
    I'm installing it too finally :D