• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Unity (or other ways to make a game)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 3
Hi. Have people started to move towards Unity or other programs that you can use to make an actual game. Warcraft 3 Reforged unfortunately killed my motivation to work with map making tools. Is it possible to create a basic RTS game with Unity easily? I have no real experience about coding things from scratch.

Speaking from my experience: not easily. The great advantage about using Warcraft III World Editor or Starcraft II Galaxy Editor lies in the availability of AAA assets. In your Unity/Unreal game you have to buy them (usually very expensive if you seek quality) or make them (very hard, even if you don't seek AAA quality standards).

It should be pretty easy to make a Unity rts, there should be plenty of "ready-to-use" packages for free on their asset store. There should also be a lot of okay-ish to good free models there. But style-wise it might be hard to find matching models if you want a cohesive theme using it. You have to be able to program though.

Personally I'm developing in C++ / Python.

Level 12
It should be pretty easy to make a Unity rts, there should be plenty of "ready-to-use" packages for free on their asset store. There should also be a lot of okay-ish to good free models there. But style-wise it might be hard to find matching models if you want a cohesive theme using it. You have to be able to program though.