• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

The U.S. Military

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 15
I don't know if this question was raised yet (if it was please close this thread for my ignorance) but how do you feel about the military? I definitely support it, but from what I hear, the military is a whole lot of nothing; you boss civilians around until you vomit, you play cards, read, or do some other... "stuff" to pass the time, eat, then boss people around some more!

I have seen a play based on letters from the military which involved violence, which may mean that the situation the soldiers are put through are, infact, dangerous. But I'm no expert at military statistics and what-not. Anyone have any insight on whether or not there is REAL danger in the situation in the Middle East (talking about U.S., not Hamas vs. Israel here...)?

[Discuss]

Level 12
What I want to know is if there is any real danger involved with being a U.S. soldier.

Of course there's a lot of danger being a U.S. soldier. As of 2008, over 4,000 U.S. soldiers were killed and over 28,000 were injured in the Iraq War alone. In Afghanistan over 600 were killed and over 2,500 were injured. Of course, this is only U.S. soldiers. They were far more casualties than just this.

The fact is, being a soldier is not an easy job. Its a war out there, and you have to fight people, kill people. There are more than just a couple of people with guns. Thousands, and possibly even more hold weapons and try to kill you and your comrades. Many U.S. soldiers will die in a war they're involved in.

Level 12