• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Starting Circle, Heroes and Tavern

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
Starting Circle for Heroes and Triggering Things

Hi . Newbie here..!
I tried to make a PudgeWars Map with Dota 2 like textures .but the problem is, I really don't know how to put heroes .. I tried the "start location" and edited it on the "player properties" but when i started the game .. it turned out to be a tavern .. and i tried to put a hero on the "start location" circle, but the hero moves on itself pls help .. heres the ss of the map that i made

Code:
[hidden=""][IMG]http://i.imgur.com/EldqnJy.jpg[/IMG][/hidden]

sorry if this is not the right thread for my problem

Last edited:
Level 22
@IcemanBo: I think he want to learn how to trigger the starting conditions for his map. IIRC, pudge wars starts with a hero (dota pudge).

@kukoo
Sorry I can't give you a definite answer, you should check out the tutorials section.

Also, could you put the image inside a hidden tag?

howto:
Code:
[plain][hidden=""][IMG]http://i.imgur.com/EldqnJy.jpg[/IMG][/hidden]
[/plain]

looks like this:
EldqnJy.jpg

If it's solo map there is not much difference, but if there are more player slots I would prefer creating units via trigger.

If you create all start units for each player in editor you might need an extra trigger that checks if all player slots are occupied to remove not needed units in case one slot is not used.

@chobibo, I see. ^^

Then just something like this at map start:

Player Group - PickAllPlayers --> If PickedPlayer Is Player --> Create 1 Hero At PickedPlayer's StartLocation?

Level 9