• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Skin Tips!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 18
Tips for skinners
This is a set of tips to keep in mind while doing a skin (some apply to all graphics).

The stuff here doesn't tell you the one and only way to be a good skinner. Keep in mind: I've got my own style and sometimes weird ways in which I like to work. Also, I change this occasionally.
I'm an amateur, always learning.
Just try some of these tips, and see if you like them.

Basic Tips
A skin's function is to support the model.
Check how the skin wraps on the model. Where does the light come from? Which polys are shaded, or obscured by an arm? Keep in mind that a model moves too, so if a skin looks good in one pose, it might not look as good in another. Not often a problem, but some Wc3 models have the tendency to produce weird deformations and splits.

Don't let critics influence your work too much, but be ready to listen.
Discover your style and stick to it. Be sure to try new/different shit too tho. Be original and inspired.

Use a gfx program you like.
Layer support is a must, when it comes to texturing.

Don't use filters.
It's so easy to make a nice lens flare, or mosaic thingamabob, but it gets really old, really fast. On top of that it's not really something you made, or even designed. Making a skin existing out of 1 computergenerated texture is not cool.
You could compare it to cheating.
Don't go over the top on this - professional skinning is all about deadlines, and anything that helps you stick to those while keeping quality high, is justified.

Try starting off in grayscale.