Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Patch destabilized map

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by HerrDave, Aug 5, 2019.

  1. HerrDave

    HerrDave

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Resources:
    165
    Models:
    137
    Icons:
    20
    Skins:
    8
    Resources:
    165
    Ever since the Reforged Pre-Patch, my WotR map has been upsettingly unstable, crashing when I pan the camera around after doing some work on part of the map.

    Here are the errors I'm getting
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    I've never had these crashes before, and I've worked on maps with much more complexity and depth.
    What in the world is going on here?

    While I'm not overly keen to publish a leak of the map for testing purposes, I'd be willing to in order to have this solved.

    (It crashed again scrolling over Goblin Town while I was typing this.)
     
  2. WaterKnight

    WaterKnight

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,035
    Resources:
    5
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    4
    Resources:
    5
    There is no good information that would tell us what went wrong. Here are some issues with the latest version. Otherwise, we have to inspect/test.
     
  3. Strydhaizer

    Strydhaizer

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,832
    Resources:
    5
    Models:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Template:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    5
    Dr. Super Good told me (back when I asked the same question as yours) to not to use 64 bit version to prevent the crashes since it is believed that WE is not built for 64 bit, go open your map with 32 bit version of WE, it worked for me.

    (But currently I am opening my maps at my 1.30.4 version of WE since I was able to backup the files before the patch and it still works - it is more stable especially the object editor because the OE is bugged in 1.31.1)
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2019
  4. HerrDave

    HerrDave

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Resources:
    165
    Models:
    137
    Icons:
    20
    Skins:
    8
    Resources:
    165
    I think I am using the 32 bit one

    PC > OS (C:) > Program Files (x86) > Warcraft III > x86 > [World Editor.exe]

    Right?
     
  5. TriggerHappy

    TriggerHappy

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,793
    Resources:
    22
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    22
    Try running your World Editor with the "-graphicsapi Direct3D9" flag.
     
  6. HerrDave

    HerrDave

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Resources:
    165
    Models:
    137
    Icons:
    20
    Skins:
    8
    Resources:
    165
    I caught the crash on video, it seems to happen more often when I do anything that involves selecting terrain to copy/paste (not shown, just experience from when the crashes first started happening)

     
  7. HerrDave

    HerrDave

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Resources:
    165
    Models:
    137
    Icons:
    20
    Skins:
    8
    Resources:
    165
    I tried the -graphicsapi Direct3D9 trick and I got a different crash.

    It appears to be a memory leak, it only started happening after the patch, and near as I can tell - it only happens on this map. (which is a bummer, that's 4 years of work)

    It gets worse and worse each time I open the map and attempt anything that involves panning the camera, clicking on the minimap, or God forbid copy/pasting doodads/terrain



    I've done a deep-dive on the conversations I was having with the lead coder for the map, and it may have been directly modified via editing the .MPQ through a text editor

    The Broken Map | HIVE
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2019