1. Head to the 33rd Modeling Contest Poll and drink to your heart's desire.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Choose your means of doom in the 17th Mini Mapping Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. A slave to two rhythms, the 22nd Terraining Contest is here.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The heavens smile on the old faithful. The 16th Techtree Contest has begun.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The die is cast - the 6th Melee Mapping Contest results have been announced. Onward to the Hive Cup!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The glory of the 20th Icon Contest is yours for the taking!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Overclocking

Discussion in 'Computer Tech' started by Chaosy, Feb 16, 2016.

  1. Chaosy

    Chaosy

    Tutorial Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    11,058
    Resources:
    18
    Icons:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    10
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    18
    I got my hands on a GTX 960 today and I want to overclock it, however I am not quite sure how far I can push it.

    I don't even know what program to use. Nvidia recommended "Evga optimizerX" but most threads I checked on google seem to use afterburner.

    Evga got preset settings for "kboost", "overboost" and "overvoltage", at the moment I just set it to kboost because it seemed safe enough.
     
  2. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,952
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    The only thing that can ruin your hardware is changing voltages. Other than that, the worst that can happen is your driver crashes and you need a restart (or not even that), so you can experiment.
    If you do want to mess with voltages (this is relevant to all overclockable hardware - CPU, GPU, RAM), I recommend reading on it more.
     
  3. Chaosy

    Chaosy

    Tutorial Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    11,058
    Resources:
    18
    Icons:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    10
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    18
    I feared as much. I had hoped there was an 'better' answer because I no real interest in computer tech and do not really wish to learn more. Just hoped to know the optimal settings.

    edit:
    So these are essentially risk-free to increase?
    [​IMG]

    while this is not:
    [​IMG]
     
  4. don_svetlio

    don_svetlio

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,421
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    1
    Skins:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    Download MSI Afterburner.

    Set the "Power Target" and "Voltage" to the max and start off with 1400 core and 1750 Memory.

    Run Unigine Valley or Heaven or both for 3-4 hours and watch for artifacting or crashing. If all is stable, add +25 to the core. IF it's unstable, drop -25 from the core.

    Keep temps bellow 80*C
     
  5. WhiteFang

    WhiteFang

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    3,382
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Well,for software I recommend MSI Afterburner
     
  6. Deathcom3s

    Deathcom3s

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,282
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I'll second (third?) the recommendation for MSI afterburner. I've used it for years, and it's far and away the best tool out there.
     
  7. Velmarshal

    Velmarshal

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,531
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Max out power target,
    Max out core clock,
    Benchmark it,
    It will probably crash and if it does, increase voltage slightly in steps of like 0.1V or 0.05V up to like +0.2V, don't overdo it. If it's still crashing, reduce the core speed slightly and keep testing. Sometimes even slowing down the memory can yield better results, but the 960 has pathetic memory bandwidth so that might end up negatively affecting performance.

    But, you have to take into account that most of these new cards overclock automatically when under load "GPU boost 2.0" and similar. You should be able to get atleast 100~200Mhz on the GPU core safely, since 900 series separated power delivery for the core and memory, which did allow for much better overclocking than usual.

    And last thing, do not allow it to go over 80C, if it does, reduce the voltage or core speed.
     
  8. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,104
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Not entirely sure about that. Increasing clock speed should increase power consumption (through increased current) which could lead to overheating. If it does in practice is another question.
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2016
  9. BlargHonk

    BlargHonk

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,119
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    On average a 960 will hit roughly 1425mhz on core and 2000mhz on memory

    It can also speed up electromigration and thus kill it over time quicker.
     
  10. don_svetlio

    don_svetlio

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,421
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    1
    Skins:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    I agree about the core clock but you're being generous with memory. Most I've seen level out at 1850-1900
     
  11. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,104
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Depends on manufacturer. Some allow for higher clock rates, others have slightly raised voltages to allow for higher clock rates. NVidia only really supplies the GPU and a reference implementation design, the actual card manufacturers (not NVidia) choose the exact details. Between manufacturer there can be large variances with performance, especially with regard to power consumption, power quality and graphic performance.
     
  12. BlargHonk

    BlargHonk

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,119
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    The stock cooler can't hit 2k due to shitty mem cooling. 4gb versions also seem to have trouble from what I've seen.
     
  13. don_svetlio

    don_svetlio

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,421
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    1
    Skins:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    It actually depends on the type of memory the use and the silicone lottery. Elpida memory, from my experience, is a very poor overclocker. Hynix doesn't really do high clocks either. Samsung usually gets the best OC on memory but it's still dependent on the lottery. Sometimes you just lose. A guy on LTT had a 970 G1 that literally failed factory clockspeeds.
     
  14. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,104
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    In which case it is defective as it fails to meet specification.

    That actually does not exist as much as you would like to believe. Better ones are automatically separated during manufacture to go for more expensive products. Its like a 100 ohm resister with +/- 1% will never be exactly 100 ohms as those resisters will be sold as 100 ohm +/- 0.1% or 0.01% for a higher price. This is especially the case with processors where intel will sell the better ones as higher end and more expensive models (eg their range for overclocking). Many lower end processors start life as high end processors but due to a large amount of defects end up with a low clock speed or one or more units disabled due to being defective.

    Ultimately there will not be much to gain by overclocking most computer systems unless they are using the best of the best chips or are willing to shorten the products life. If there was no negative side to overclocking then all components would already use that clock rate as the manufacturers would need to be stupid to sell something at a slower clock rate that can easily do a much higher one with no negatives.
     
  15. I NEED HELP!
    I accidentally Overclocked the Workstation PC 1 The Motherboard software is MSI, I went in to the bios and Switched from Eco mode to OC Genie II. I saved the changes then It shut off in an instant, I Restarted my computer but the boot screen for the windows and MSI Didn't showed up. I restarted this multiple choice but there's no solution... Pleaaaaaaaseee help me D:> My grandfather will fucking kill me and put the blame cause I broke one of his Gaming stations T_T
     
  16. Velmarshal

    Velmarshal

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,531
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Pull out the CMOS battery from the motherboard, wait for five minutes and then put it back and boot it up. That should reset the BIOS to its default state.
    [​IMG]
     
  17. I did the process as you told, Set the clock of the Windows 7 Properly and it's default settings THEN. When it goes to the boot logo (Starting light is red) It freezes in a second then reboots and reboots constantly.
     
  18. BlargHonk

    BlargHonk

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,119
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    you broke it
     
  19. Nah, I think I only broke 90% Percent of it, the BiOS is still working but the OS.. Ugh. I'll just wait for my Technician to come, I already asked Velm for help ^^
     
  20. don_svetlio

    don_svetlio

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,421
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    1
    Skins:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    Open the PC case - there is a round battery on the motherboard. Take it out gently by pushing on the release switch with a screwdriver. Wait about 5 mins. Insert it in it's place in the same position. Turn on. That's called clearing CMOS