• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

High Performance PC Rig Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 11
Hello,

I'm in the process of getting myself a new computer and I am currently studying the options. Below is a custom build I have put together reading from different forums around the web.

I'm starting a Game Development - Design program in a few weeks which will keep me busy for 3 years and after that I want to potentially work in the industry.

So what I want is to be able to play games on very high/high graphics for the next 3-5 years. Additionally I wish to be able to handle 3D softwares such as Maya, Zbrush, etc and game engines such as Unity and Unreal Engine 3 (and 4), etc.

Note that this would be my first custom build. Also I have never tried overclocking before. My last computer was a complete build which I bought 4 years ago. However, I have read a lot online lately and think I have a general understanding of what is required.

Would the build perform as intended? Is it weak, overkill, would it work at all?

The Build
CPUIntel Core i5 3570K 3.4 GHz
I wish to overclock this a bit, to unlock more of its potential.
GPUNvidia GeForce GTX 670 OC 980 MHz, (1058Mhz Boost Clock) 2048 MB, GDDR5
Overclocked already, but is said to be able to be overclocked further.
HDD1 TB (7200rpm), SATA 6,0 Gbit/s
RAM8 GB, 2x4096MB, DDR3 1600MHz
MotherboardMSI Z77A-GD55 ATX
Power SupplyFSP Aurum 650W 80+ Gold Modular
+CoolingCooler Master Hyper 212 EVO

> Link to build with more details on all its components.