• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

ORPG Ideas

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Hey there guys! Just wated to say that, this is my first post, but I've been visiting this site for around a year now, and it's looking good.

Now to the topic, I've been playing around with WE for about 3 years now, and I think I should actually make something worth playing. The only really thing that comes to mind is an ORPG (I was going to try and RPG but to be honest, the storyline was cliche), but with an ORPG, you can do anything you want, and that to me, gives me more freedom. Side question, ORPG stands for Open Role Playing Game or Online Role Playing Game in context with Warcraft 3 maps?

Onto the map, I've been practicing terraining for a bit now (as this was my major problem before), and I think I can do it all now (My terraining is making every thing water, and using raise/lower to get things right, and it working better then the old style). Triggering and Object Creating is all easy, I will have no trouble with that.

I just wanted to get your thoughts on, what would you want in an ORPG, that you would want to reply again and again? The only things that come to my mind are professions, such as fishing and mining. I don't know yet how I would implement them, but this might break away from the traditional (O)RPG games where it's almost all hack-and-slash.

So, what say you?

Level 13
1 thing is giving players choices. Cause really if your stuck doing the same thing over and over it gets boring quick
heres a quick idea for professions, if its up to the players on which one(s) they get