• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

Map keeps heartbreakingly imploding, need help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 5
I've been War 3 map editing for a good while. I'm not an expert like you guys are, but I know the common bugs and errors.

I know to make back up copies of everything I do. After every save that works, I make a back up copy. You never know when your map might implode.

But lately, the map keeps imploding regularly, and I have no idea why.

The map preview all comes out OK. The map, itself, loads and starts OK. But within a few seconds, it all goes to hell. My units start skipping around. Spawning units skip around. When I try to exit Warcraft 3, the game crashes and often crashes my computer with it.

This has been happening consistently. I have whittled down to what seems to cause it: adding anything to the triggers. If I add any new trigger, the map just deteriorates and units begin to skip around.

Is there a trigger limit?

I don't think I have that many triggers. DOTA has more triggers than my map, apparently.

My map is 256 x 256. But not all the terrain is put in. Half the map is still blank.

The first time I was adding the triggers, it all worked. Then the map imploded without me doing anything to it (units not being able to move correctly, skipping around, etc.)

I didn't find anything in the archives about this issue.

I have re-installed Warcraft 3 and NewGen.

At least, I hope for some sort of idea of why the map keeps imploding. Has any of you encountered the problem of loading up your map but the units keep stopping on you and then skip around only to result in a bizarre crash?

Level 5
So angry I had to get away a few days.