• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[JASS] Learning JASS. Last Question

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 16
Learning vJASS

I have asked before how to learn JASS but this will be the last question to ask how to learn JASS.

I am in a dire need of learning JASS but I'm not a programmer, how do I learn JASS. There is JASS manual but I can't learn from it or don't understand how to use it when making JASS. Please, good people of Hiveworkshop point me to where to start JASS and become profesional using it.

Last edited:
Level 3
Start off by converting GUI triggers into jass, getting rid of all the BJs, and replacing as many globals into locals as possible.

Suggest you get Jass New Gen, it makes vJass very easy.

Level 16
  • Initialization
    • Events
      • Map initialization
    • Conditions
    • Actions
When converted to JASS

JASS:
function Trig_Initialization_Actions takes nothing returns nothing
endfunction
//===========================================================================
function InitTrig_Initialization takes nothing returns nothing
    set gg_trg_Initialization = CreateTrigger(  )
    call TriggerAddAction( gg_trg_Initialization, function Trig_Initialization_Actions )
endfunction

Is this a native or BJ ? And where is the event 'Map Initialization' in the JASS code ?

Level 13
I suggest getting Jass NewGen Pack whether you'll use extended JASS (vJass) or not. You can find it on wc3c.net under Resources > Tools. It has syntax highlighting, so you won't need an additional JASS editor.

But I suggest starting with vJass, because you don't have to know regular JASS to start vJass, afaik.