• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Kael Model import issue.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Hello my name is Vanza, and first off, thank you for having me on this forum. Sadly I have a problem I hope you all can help with. I apologize if this is not the right sub-forum for this, but it seems to be correct. I don't like starting off asking for help but it seems I'm left with no recourse. I am rather new to Warcraft 3, and I like the idea of being able to rename units, import skins, and even change and alter models. Sadly I've had no luck with the latter.

I've been trying for the past few days to get a model to load in the World Editor. I had an idea to use Kael/Hero Blood Elf's model in a gimped form, as a prisoner having been caught by some orcs or what not for a story idea I was playing around with. (probably rework it into some other character and not Kael, he's a tad too powerful for that. LOL)

I managed to get the texture itself/blp file (bloodelfhero3.blp) to display on the Blood Mage/Kael, in testing and in game. So I don't think it was a texture issue.(Textures\Hero_BloodElf.blp) worked just fine. But the work I did with the edit model doesn't show up.

I've read various tutorials, removed the "warcraft3 imported" bit from in front of the path, I've saved and closed, reloaded the editor. I've looked for every tutorial I could find on importing models and I've had no luck getting it to work in game. The model appears invisible. Again this includes save, re-opening the World Editor. It includes removing the imported path from the front of the model.

I don't know if it is an issue with the names I saved the model as, or some other form of corruption.