1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Rubbed the right way, the genie is out of its lamp! The 12th Concept Art Contest Results have been announced.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The Lich King has a new champion. The results for the 19th Icon Contest are here!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Race against the odds and Reforge, Don't Refund. The 14th Techtree Contest has begun!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Is it worth patching to 1.30?

Discussion in 'Patch & Reforged Discussion' started by sentrywiz, Jan 21, 2019.

  1. Hopefully the system requirements won't be raised dramatically.

    I'm working on my campaign on patch 1.29.2, which is stable from my experience and should run the recently updated custom campaign. I have yet to test that, I'm not sure how different my version and 1.30.x are. From what I can tell the recent ones are mostly just balance patches.
     
  2. Retera

    Retera

    Tool Reviewer

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    896
    Resources:
    26
    Models:
    18
    Tools:
    2
    Maps:
    6
    Resources:
    26
    Patch 1.29 introduced widescreen, removed some hidden unused texture files such as the ground textures named L_UndeadUberSplat.blp that was a duplicate of the one in the L tileset MPQ, moved the NagaBirth model file to a different path so that custom Naga building models have no birth animation, and added a bunch of natives. Many of the natives have buggy and carelessly implemented behavior. For rotating special effects, Yaw and Roll are flipped, so you cannot easily spin a model in the way that you would conventionally expect, and you have to do upper mathematics to do a matrix transformation of your own before calling the native. In that version, assigning the X or Y values of the special effect individually will reset the other of the two values. So, the native to set special effect X would reset its Y value.
    The 1.29 patch removed the War3Patch.mpq and added assets such as the Tinker and Firelord model files into the game's War3x.mpq.

    Around this time and as they went to Patch 1.30, they added the ability to press ALT+ENTER to switch between Windowed and Fullscreen while the game is running. The changed the game storage system so that it no longer uses the same kind of MPQ software, so that programs like Magos War3ModelEditor and MdlVis can no longer load textures from inside the game.
    They also switched the layout to include all possible languages with the game installation. They merged War3.mpq internally with War3x.mpq under the premise that there should only be one (the distinction between MPQ files still exists internally, but they are not visible as hard drive files, so that modding tools don't work). This means that Reign of Chaos only icons that were overwritten by the expansion such as the old Priest icon, and the Charm icon, are simply gone, so if you play the original RoC campaigns on 1.30 you will see the new Priest icon and other influences from the expansion.
    With all these formatting changes, they also added JassHelper into the World Editor using Vexorian's implementation, changed the networking so that any player can use the Create Game button similar to Starcraft 2, and changed the LAN feature to use a popup asking users to install some weird application with a French name. Generally, LAN is bad for corporate economics because you can't easily record data analytics on LAN games, and they weren't validating CD keys. So, making it irritating to use gradually eliminates the issues as people forget it even exists, and in the phone addict culture people don't keep friends face to face anymore to go to LAN parties anyway.
    Also, caching of map information was further corrupted to the point that the official Blizzard suggested solution to multiplayer desync issues is that a user must restart the game application after every map ends, otherwise you put yourself at a higher risk of desync.

    I use it because of the increased convenience that you can play online with others without port forwarding, on days went the desync issues aren't bad an the Join Game button is working in custom games (some days it isn't).
     
  3. yki01

    yki01

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    So uhm... where does the 1.26a community go to? I'm currently having a hard time learning Russian. Chinese well... uhm I'm done with just nihao and chuni chunger quiae le. So be Russian and go iccup? Please help, really clueless since blizz broke ENT and MMH.

    Where art though 1.26a peeps?
     
  4. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    13,072
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    1.26 is outdated and only a minority work with it, memhack and whatnot.
     
  5. Melth

    Melth

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Messages:
    201
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    What's the best way to get a pre-1.30 patch such as 1.26a or 1.27b? I've tried the old Warcraft Version switcher tools and they don't seem to work anymore since they apparently can't detect my WC3 file in the folder.
     
  6. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    13,072
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Fresh install and:
    Latest 1.27 patch | HIVE
     
  7. pyf

    pyf

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    2,531
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Still great when using ReplayKit, though.

    @deepstrasz: I bet he wants a downgrade patch, not an official upgrade one.



    ** Update **
    For the record, this is the best way to get the official legacy cumulative standalone offline upgrade patches from Blizzard:
    Blizzard offline updater
    (note: forgot to add Taiwanese as a supported language)
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2019
  8. Wow this discussion went in flames.

    I can share my copy of warcraft 3, since I haven't downloaded or installed any patches
    in 15+ years. Also has version switcher.

    To me this is the only convenience.
    I have old pc's that can run wc3 way better in window mode
    but they can't play because GameRanger only uses fullscreen.
    So I can't play on those even when I have people for lan parties.

    Game Ranger is still very much alive. I've never used Garena or ENT.
    And it runs the game in LAN. Proxy LAN as I understand it.
    I agree that LAN is outdated tech at this point, as much as a Walkman on cassettes.

    Desyncs are sometimes a horror with game ranger or warcraft. Not even port forwarding.
    I'd have to turn off every firewall on all pc's to get it to work. And sometimes it doesn't.
    That might be another convenience in today's "online-age"

    So is warcraft 3. Which is why Reforged... and I pray to all gods they
    don't make it like starcraft 2. Because it doesn't feel cool to me to
    download 30 gigs to play a "warcraft" recreation of a map when I can
    play a starcraft recreation on any pc with a 2 gigabyte portable non-install
    that works with game ranger.

    Oh and I don't know how much of Blizzard's body is alive within Activision's stomach
    and both of them within EA's claws... so I'd brace for impact if Reforged isn't good...
    or it has loot-boxes in it... j/k. It might have micro-transactions.
     
  9. Melth

    Melth

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Messages:
    201
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    When doing a fresh install though, how do I avoid starting off in 1.30? I no longer have my old discs, just the CD keys, so I've been relying on downloading it from Blizzard's site for years whenever I need to reinstall.
     
  10. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    13,072
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    You need the old Warcraft III I'm afraid and yeah, from CDs sadly, the legal way.
     
  11. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,926
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Downloading 30 GB is a big deal? For more and more people it is only 50 minutes or less of downloading.

    Yes keeping up to date is worth it. Not only does it run better on Windows 10, has wide screen support but also many new powerful natives.
     
  12. Melth

    Melth

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Messages:
    201
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Hm. Well without my old CDs it sounds like I can't use that approach. Is there a way to get the old Version Switcher tools to work? Or is there a new Version Switcher?
     
  13. nuck001

    nuck001

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    The community of Warcraft3 has already been separated since 1.29 was released.A lot of mapmakers were irritated by compatibility problems which was mentioned by Retera(#22).You could also check some old threads last year to find out why.

    The new patches,especially CASC ones no longer support third-party-platforms such as ICCup(runned by Russians),Netease(runned by Chinese),RGC,Garena and so on.As a Chinese player,I'm confused just like you are.Netease,the only "LEGAL" agent of Blizzard in mainland China,has made us download a third-party-worldeditor,a pirate copy of YDWE which was inherited of JNGP.And guess what,they are all based on 1.27a or earlier patches.The maps made by Chinese authors don't support 1.30+ and apparently can't be played or opened by you guys,unless you wanna download a pirate wc3 version from Netease.Of course,Blizzard knows that and is KEEPING acquiescence.

    Wc3 community of mainland China is already separated from the world.What makes the matter worse is that a large amount of our mapmakers have monetized their maps.They've taken advantage of bugs which only exist in old versions such as Memory Hack. Being driven by greed,they've completely destroyed the environment of wc3 community in China.God knows what will happen when the Reforged Warcraft3 be released.
     
  14. pyf

    pyf

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    2,531
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Maybe buy another set of CDs from used stores, or from the flea market?

    You should ask the author(s) directly imho.

    The PTR version of the game can be installed instead, to check out the current development state of the game. This will not harm the other, regular stable version of WC3.

    Some legacy versions of WC3 can be enhanced with additional patches (as mix files / alternate launchers), to provide some enhanced features to some of these previous versions of the game.

    Yes it is.



    ** Update **
    You should have kept somewhere a local copy of the digital download version of the full game, which was introduced along with the release of Patch v1.21b in 2008. I hope that someday Blizzard will make this downloadable version of the full game available again from their own servers.

    The official standalone offline upgrade patches ranging from v1.24a up to and including v1.27b, are still available from Blizzard's servers.


    As for the Web installer for the full game, it was introduced with v1.28.0 in April 2017. The Web installer only installs the most current version of the game.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2019
  15. Eye

    Eye

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Yes it is.
    Are you playing it or making any maps, at least, both of you? Widescreen is good, sure; natives, yeah, - in theory.
    You can not play the game, it is broken in so many ways. If you do not meet any game-breaking bugs, sound or interface glitches, at least you meet bunch of desyncs while you play it.
     
  16. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    13,072
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    If you're referring to newer patches, I use 1.29.2 as it's stable until the newer ones get properly coded.
    Don't think there's too much they could do anyway.
     
  17. pyf

    pyf

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    2,531
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Meaning, your version is as outdated as v1.26a is.

    The topic of this thread reads "is it worth patching to 1.30?". Therefore, your answer is implicitly no. You, too, prefer to stay with an outdated version of the game, because it is a version that works and suits your needs.

    Widescreen support. increased JASS operation limit. custom JASS natives. transparent texture for the UI. Windows XP support. works with v1.26a and v1.28.1

    ==> *here* <==
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2019
  18. Retera

    Retera

    Tool Reviewer

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    896
    Resources:
    26
    Models:
    18
    Tools:
    2
    Maps:
    6
    Resources:
    26
    I have been pretty exclusively playing the latest patch. This is possible for me, and me alone, because I have a model editor similar to Magos that I am working on that can use DrSuperGood's JCASC library and load game data from 1.30 (even though all of the other model eeitors, like Magos and MdlVis, require older installations).

    Perhaps more people would move to 1.30 if I published what I am working on? But the common WarCraft III map developer wants to be able to write some JASS scripting, as well as doing model tweaks, so not having TESH in the World Editor is really a hold back.

    HiveWE can give us a script editor in a world editor where they can't take it away. I got the Matrix Eater to render animated unit models, so I am working on a fork of HiveWE where I'm trying to animate the units to bring HiveWE more to life emotionally for people. But there is a lot that I don't know. My C++ schooling focused on building command line applications, not a GUI nor an OpenGL application. Last night I was trying to teach myself the reasoning behind Ghostwolf's bone texture. I was able to predict before reading his code, based on the shader alone, that it had to be a width and height equal to (Bones * 4) by (instance count). This means I am getting closer to full understanding. Essentially, HiveWE has to have better performance than my Java editor that only opens a single model at a time. HiveWE needs to be able to render 100 Footman.

    HiveWE's MDX renderer tracks instances by rebuilding the instance list on every frame. Without major changes I will have to rebuild the bone texture on every frame. Maybe this can't be avoided? So it means that performance might still be questionable in comparison to what is desired.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2019
  19. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    13,072
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I can play some of the stuff made with newer patches on 1.29.2 if that helps. So, no, it's a false claim, yours, the version being as outdated.
    And my answer is not a general no because there are some things you can do with 1.30.4 but that work for singleplayer maps, not multiplayer ones. Problem is, I have no idea what the multiplayer issues are really, maybe they come from mapping, maybe they're just related to the new (?) servers and Battle.net?
     
  20. pyf

    pyf

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    2,531
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Any version of the game other than the latest current one, is outdated.


    ** Update **

    This is what v1.29.2 (first released on May 3, 2018) is missing out:
    - Patch 1.30.0 - Liquipedia Warcraft Wiki
    - Patch 1.30.1 - Liquipedia Warcraft Wiki
    - Patch 1.30.2 - Liquipedia Warcraft Wiki
    - Patch 1.30.3 - Liquipedia Warcraft Wiki
    - Patch 1.30.4 - Liquipedia Warcraft Wiki
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2019