• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Heroes of Azeroth - A Heroes of Might and Magic inspired map

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 4
Heroes of Azeroth (Working title)

Updated 02.01.20

Since this personal project of mine has become much more than just an idea, I decided to create a proper thread for it here.

Human Town Screen Small.PNG

Background

Being a fan of the Heroes of Might and Magic games I got inspired to create a map in Reforged by looking at the awesome new models the Blizzard devs have created. I'm a 3D/Technical Artist by profession so I probably geeked out a bit more than I should have over the new models. Nonetheless, I noticed almost every regular unit has an "upgraded" version and that got me thinking how perfect that is for a HOMM type map. So I started working on this a few of months ago (as soon as the World Editor for Reforged was available), and this will be my little tribute to the Warcraft universe.

General Info

The map is heavily inspired by Heroes 3 and 5, which are my favorite in the series. Most of the game mechanics will be taken from there.
  • Turn based gameplay
  • Up to 4 players
  • Dynamic map design, with Small, Medium and Large playable areas
  • Solo Mode
  • AI specifically developed for the turn based gameplay
  • 7 Factions to choose from:
    • Humans (Castle)
    • Orcs (Stronghold)
    • Night Elves (Rampart)
    • Undead (Necropolis)
    • Naga (Fortress)
    • Burning Legion (Inferno)
    • Twilight's Hammer (Dungeon)
  • 6 Tiers of Units per faction each with an upgrade
  • Interactive Town Screens for each faction
  • Multiple Heroes per faction (known characters from the Warcraft Universe)