1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Join the 6th Melee Mapping Contest for a chance to have your map featured in this year's Hive Cup!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Shoot to thrill, play to kill. Sate your hunger with the 33rd Modeling Contest!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Do you hear boss music? It's the 17th Mini Mapping Contest!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Let your favorite entries duke it out in the 15th Techtree Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Weave light to take you to your highest hopes - the 6th Special Effect Contest is here!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Freezing Cooldown

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Daffa, Aug 2, 2020.

  1. Daffa

    Daffa

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8,146
    Resources:
    30
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    9
    Spells:
    18
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    30
    Is there a way to freeze a spell cooldown from taking place until another spell is used? This is for a two-phase spell.
     
  2. Uncle

    Uncle

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2018
    Messages:
    1,853
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I suppose you could do something like this:
    • Events
      • Time - Every 0.01 seconds of game time
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • Unit - For Unit (Triggering unit), start cooldown of ability Animate Dead "over" 5.00 seconds.

    So it's not technically paused but it'll stay at the same cooldown until you turn the timer off.
     
  3. Daffa

    Daffa

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8,146
    Resources:
    30
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    9
    Spells:
    18
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    30
    Interesting, but as far as my testing goes with that set cooldown function, the new cooldown only applies once the spell is not on cooldown. I might need to redo my tests.
     
  4. Uncle

    Uncle

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2018
    Messages:
    1,853
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    It should start the cooldown regardless of it's state, but then again I haven't tried it in a while.

    Edit: Tested it just now, it works, although the UI will flicker/bug out for a moment.

    There's always the option to Disable the ability and then Enable/Start it's cooldown once it's ready to resume.
     
  5. Daffa

    Daffa

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8,146
    Resources:
    30
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    9
    Spells:
    18
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    30
    Glad to hear, thanks for the help!
     
  6. Zwiebelchen

    Zwiebelchen

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,995
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    5
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    12
    Why not put both abilities on the same slot, then simply enable the Combo ability after the starter ability was used and disable the combo starter instead?
    Cleaner implementation and it makes sense that they both share the same ability slot anyway.