• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

Comp running slow, TuneUp, AVG

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 13
Well, this is a pretty common problem, I think. My comp is running about two or three times slower than it did before. It kinda bugs me, because I think I might have viruses. I also probably have a lot of unused data that just takes memory...I sometimes even get "Low RAM" warnings. I have three questions.

Does anyone know how can I make my comp go faster? I tried removing stuff from startup, but nothing improved significantly. I'm a noob at these things.

Is TuneUp a safe program? I think it's quite useful, but I don't want it deleting my files just because he "thinks" they're not necessary. Does anyone have any experience with it? That would improve my comp's performance a lot perhaps.

Is having only AVG ok? Because I'm really tired of downloading antivirus programs, then restarting my comp a dozen of times and stuff like that. There's one thing I hate about antivirus software, you practically have to have more than one (for viruses & spyware, right?), which automatically gives a chance of them conflicting and I never know if they work properly. Downloading antivirus from torrent is also a stupid idea, because I first have to check the downloaded file for viruses, so it's pretty much going in circle. Is there any way to secure my comp so I can say "it's virus-free now"? I suppose I can always go to registry and clean some of them manually, is there any tutorial on doing that?

+rep for useful answers

Level 6