1. Head to the 33rd Modeling Contest Poll and drink to your heart's desire.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Choose your means of doom in the 17th Mini Mapping Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. A slave to two rhythms, the 22nd Terraining Contest is here.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The heavens smile on the old faithful. The 16th Techtree Contest has begun.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The die is cast - the 6th Melee Mapping Contest results have been announced. Onward to the Hive Cup!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The glory of the 20th Icon Contest is yours for the taking!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

[Import] Broken skin

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Watcher, Aug 19, 2020.

  1. Watcher

    Watcher

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hello guys!

    Can anyone get this skin working?

    RunicRavenWitch.BLP

    I tried importing, saving the map, closing & opening multiple times, also tried changing the path, but seems like nothing really works & skin creator hasn't been around since January of 2k20.

    His other skins work correctly, so I don't really know why this skin doesn't work.
     
  2. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,100
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Possibly incorrect export settings in BLPLab resulting in a corrupt BLP file.

    You can use BLPLab to extract the full sized image. From this either try re-encoding it into BLP1 (not BLP2) with a full set of mipmaps, or using GIMP to export it as a compatibly encoded DDS texture.

    Be aware that BLPLab has broken mipmap logic. Not only must the required number of mipmap levels be manually computed, but the logic suffers from off-by-one errors so you need to add 1 to the total number of mipmaps to get it to generate them all reliably. Since the image has a largest dimension of 512 pixels this means that 11 mipmap levels would need to be specified in BLPLab for it to maybe work.
     
  3. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15,303
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    What patch version are you using it on?
    Maybe that has something to do with it.
    The author has been on in June this year. Maybe wait for an answer/fix.
     
  4. Warseeker

    Warseeker

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3,078
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Are you sure you set the path exactly like this : Units\Demon\Demoness\demoness.blp ?

    I think I know what's wrong, in the model bundle it says the import path is : units\demons\demoness\demoness.blp while in reality it's just "demon" without the "s"
     
  5. Watcher

    Watcher

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Sorry for late response. Thank you guys for your suggestions and the greatest thanks to @Warseeker and +rep, cause the wrong path was indeed the problem.