1. Are you planning to upload your awesome tool to Hive? Please review the rules here.
    July 9, 2018: The rules for the Tool Section have been revised. Please be sure to read the revisions.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  10. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

BLPaletter 1.5b

Submitted by PitzerMike
This bundle is marked as approved. It works and satisfies the submission rules.
This tool originates from here

BLPaletter converts BMP, TGA and JPG images to paletted BLP images.
These often compress better than usual JPG compressed BLPs.
For example it compresses a 256x256 texture to 33kb in a map of mine.
Note that paletted blps work better with MPQ archive compression than ordinary jpg blps,
so that you can only accurately compare file size after importing them into a map.
Since version 1.3 it can also create JPG compressed BLPs.
Fixed Mipmapping issues in version 1.4.
Fixed an alpha channel issue in version 1.5b.

Simply drag and drop the input image onto the executable and it'll be converted to blp.

To make use of the available options use a command line such as:
BLPaletter <input.tga|input.bmp|input.jpg> [<output.blp>] [<number of colors / quality>] [-j | -p] [-mipN]

Replace the N of the -mip parameter with a number between 1 and 16.
This will limit the number of generated mipmaps to a max of N.

For icons and interface textures always use -mip1 because they do not use mipmapping .
Or -mip2 if you support people with really old computers who have the texture quality setting at low.
For model textures simply leave out the -mip parameter.



Examples:

Code (Text):
  BLPaletter D:\icons\BTNSomeIcon.tga -mip1
    -> Will create D:\icons\BTNSomeIcon.blp with 256 colors and 1 mipmap

  BLPaletter D:\icons\BTNBlah.bmp 128
    -> Will create D:\icons\BTNBlah.blp with 128 colors

  BLPaletter D:\icons\a.tga D:\icons\b.blp 64
    -> Will create D:\icons\b.blp with 64 colors

  BLPaletter "C:\Program Files\Something\SomeTexture.tga" Target.blp
    -> Will create Target.blp with 256 colors in the current directory (watch out: you need " when a path contains a space)

  BLPaletter C:\x.bmp C:\y.blp 85 -j
    -> Will create C:\y.blp with JPG compression and a quality of 85%

  BLPaletter ..\Textures\MountainKing.bmp -p -mip8
    -> Will create ..\Textures\MountainKing.blp with 256 colors (paletted) and 8 mipmaps at max
 
You can also download this additional GUI frontend made by Acaykath, put it in the same directory and use that.
It will give you nice buttons and things you can click on.


Keywords:
BLPaletter, BLP, Paletted BLP, TGA, BLP Converter, Compression
Contents

BLPaletter 1.5c (Binary)

Reviews
Moderator
16:48, 15th Jun 2008 ZypherXII: Very usefull. Works perfectly if you follow the instructions.
  1. 16:48, 15th Jun 2008
    ZypherXII:
    Very usefull. Works perfectly if you follow the instructions.
     
  2. HorizonTal

    HorizonTal

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    422
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    it doesn't work. A black window opens and then disappears. And that's all :p

    NOW I have understood that my post was stupid
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2008
  3. Insaniac69

    Insaniac69

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    234
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hmm... Very useful after finding out how to use it right it worked great! Congrats.
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2008
  4. HappyTauren

    HappyTauren

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8,414
    Resources:
    87
    Models:
    61
    Icons:
    23
    Packs:
    1
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    87
    You are not very savvy if you can't use a dos program after a complete guide. This program let me compress many of icons I imported, thus rating is 5.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 25, 2008
  5. PitzerMike

    PitzerMike

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    204
    Resources:
    3
    Tools:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    Let me quote the introduction to make it clear for everyone.

    You can also download this additional GUI frontend made by Acaykath, put it in the same directory and use that. It will give you nice buttons and things you can click on. ;)
     
  6. HorizonTal

    HorizonTal

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    422
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    OOOOOoooooooooooooooh! it's a DOS program! I'm getting the guide...

    OOooooOOooooooooooooh! the guide is here! That's why I couldn't find it anywhere!
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2008
  7. ICEMAN.

    ICEMAN.

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    sigh on me, I am doing sumtin wrong, I do drop a TGA file onto it, but notin

    . . . oh wait, nvm! :p
     
  8. RiskDude

    RiskDude

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    COOL i can make great textures with this ;)
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2008
  9. Tau Empire

    Tau Empire

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    875
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    OK... Drag the TGA picture on the .exe waited for 5 minutes nothing happen, no .blp picture pops out. Is this thing working I know it's a DOS but still.
     
  10. PitzerMike

    PitzerMike

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    204
    Resources:
    3
    Tools:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    Try it in the command prompt so you can see the error message that it pops out.
    It will probably tell you that the input image has an unsupported TGA format (for example RLE compression)
     
  11. RiskDude

    RiskDude

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    at worsks perfectly :|
     
  12. LockPick

    LockPick

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    its not working for me, maybe its because im running Win2K
     
  13. M_Vegeta

    M_Vegeta

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    439
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    man i dont fucking understand a damnit word of what i gotta do, some1 said drag file on executable thing doesent do shit. upper its said codes , idk my cmd shit is maybe broke cuz it doesnt work at all >.> some1 can help me msg me on azeroth as Legendary_Kyubi and post a message its my bote into clan esw >.>
     
  14. M_Vegeta

    M_Vegeta

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    439
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    this shit is 2 fucking complicated noob poeple that making image only need
    ULTIMATE PAINT its allow u to save made as blp or tga and edit map size for map if u cant make bmp to blp USE wc3 model edito make a loading screen ,save it, reload it under ultimate paint fix size u need & save it as tga or blp ,(with all mdx converter u can e-z converte those file_
     
  15. pkw

    pkw

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    461
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Try using .jpg format files. Works for mine.
     
  16. NoobinJass

    NoobinJass

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0




    Yo Man Is there nobody teach you how to speak? Just speak to your mama like that and i sure she will kick you out.

    Back to topic: It worked.
     
  17. Falck

    Falck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    seriously this program doesnt work it just opens a window for like a hundredth of a second then it closes again this is just messed up... how do i get it to work ???
     
  18. HappyTauren

    HappyTauren

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8,414
    Resources:
    87
    Models:
    61
    Icons:
    23
    Packs:
    1
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    87
    Maybe by reading DESCRIPTION?
     
  19. lw.warlord

    lw.warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    this happens to be very usefull program for me thanks a lot.