1. Head to the 33rd Modeling Contest Poll and drink to your heart's desire.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Choose your means of doom in the 17th Mini Mapping Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. A slave to two rhythms, the 22nd Terraining Contest is here.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The heavens smile on the old faithful. The 16th Techtree Contest has begun.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The die is cast - the 6th Melee Mapping Contest results have been announced. Onward to the Hive Cup!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The glory of the 20th Icon Contest is yours for the taking!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Blizzard and his nice coding

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Anachron, Jan 21, 2009.

  1. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,220
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    Well first off, this is an offtopic about blizzard coding.

    I've now learnt JASS and as more as I program the more
    I get horrible things from Blizzard to see.

    Those "This function is doubled" annoy me.

    I think it was IsUnitAliveBJ(), what the hell?
    its the same as IsUnitAlive().

    And why the hell do we need to check for
    destroying temporary groups?

    What did blizzard thought?

    And why don't they simple allow us to attach
    values to variables, so we don't need to use
    game caches?

    And why the hell do they not added an
    auto-leak-removal.

    (Something that is runned after each function,
    running all variables through and cleaning the
    local variables)
     
  2. ady_illidan

    ady_illidan

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    753
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Because Blizzard thought that we are too stupid to use their editor... or they thought we are too smart and we can do that ourselves.
     
  3. Naze

    Naze

    Arena Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,301
    Resources:
    6
    Icons:
    4
    Skins:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    6
    True.
     
  4. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,220
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    But why don't they update the freaking engine, since they heared from DotA?
     
  5. TheBlooddancer

    TheBlooddancer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,908
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Or that they didn't give a shit.

    If WE costed money, they would code it better for sure, but then again, if WE costed money, = Not as many maps for battlenet = Nobody buys Wc3.
     
  6. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,220
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    I am saying this with a function

    function CheckForWEUpdate takes integer WoWusers, real WoWmoney returns boolean
    call DisplayTextToForce(GetPlayersAll(),"We would get " + (WoWusers * WoWmoney) + "money less if we make the WE better")
    return false;
    endfunction
     
  7. Blackscar

    Blackscar

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    If i remember corectly didn't blizzard sayed that thy do not support the editor?
    if so thiers you awnser kinda.
     
  8. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,220
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    Ye, but with not supporting such a wonderful program it means they are not interested in ourself being good, so that means that they don't want us to be better as their coders are, or?
     
  9. FrIkY

    FrIkY

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,936
    Resources:
    74
    Models:
    2
    Icons:
    46
    Packs:
    2
    Skins:
    24
    Resources:
    74
    [​IMG]

    Just showing the picture...
    (lol, wait... it's probably loading... bmp format :p)
     
  10. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,220
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    But that has NOTHING to do with IMPROVING the editor.
     
  11. Blackscar

    Blackscar

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Honestly i dont know ,but dont forget that waracft 3 is a old game and blizzard has its wow ,starcaft 2 older games ten to get abandoned in the end. :)asc:).

    And showing blizzard's enploys that you are beter then their coders will create envy.
     
  12. Mechanical Man

    Mechanical Man

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,384
    Resources:
    39
    Models:
    30
    Icons:
    3
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    4
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    39
    So there is no difference between functionBJ() and function() ?
     
  13. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,220
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    In most cases yes, but in some cases its quite the same, just that the BJ calls the normal function.
     
  14. Gilles

    Gilles

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    8,464
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Simply because they don't give a shit.
     
  15. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,220
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    That was your 5555th post =D Niiice :p

    well but I would, because those programs will keep people playing wc3.
     
  16. xXMephistoXx

    xXMephistoXx

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    904
    Resources:
    18
    Models:
    9
    Icons:
    6
    Skins:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    18
    Well, can you honestly say Blizzard gives a shit if people play Wc3..? They make enough money off WoW, anyway. They don't need Wc3 at all. The only reason it's still updating is probably because some people at Blizzard actually like the game.