1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Choose your ride to damnation in the 5th Special Effect Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The winners of the 13th Techtree Contest have been announced!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The 13th Music Contest Poll is up! Vote for the best tracks in this symphony of frost and flame.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Race against the odds and Reforge, Don't Refund. The 14th Techtree Contest has begun!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Best way of doing abilities?

Discussion in 'StarCraft II Modding' started by Rushhour2, Aug 27, 2010.

  1. Rushhour2

    Rushhour2

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hey guys.
    I haven't done much in the editor yet, since I do the campaign, but I already see that VERY much stuff can be done in the Data editor, which needed to be done by triggers and JASS in WC3.

    I am not too familiar with the actors and so I don't know everything they can do and do not know what they can't do.

    Main question: When I want to have, let's say a basic chain lightning ability, I know I will need quite some actors, behaviours, ... but it could be done only with the data editor. But how flexible is this?
    Is there a way a simple way to adjust the amount of jumps, damage dealt, behaviour on hit, searching for the next target,...?

    An easy adjustment would be to deal 20*level of ability damage. Can the data editor do this?

    A more complex adjustment would be for example dealing damage based on the number of nearby allies (counting/enumerating them ). Can the data editor do this?

    And if there is NO simple way of getting such flexible abilites, how could I do the code? I know how to build up a chain lightning and stuff (well, finding the right functions/function names will get tricky :D ) , but how do I do the visual stuff?
    Can I use an actor as a lightning (aka beam) in triggers? Can I use actors as special effects? Do I need to create an actor for every effect (so is there no way anymore to use sth like AddSpecialEffect("BigBang.mdl") )?

    Pretty many questions, but pretty essential for me. So I need answers by someone who already did some abilities and knows how to avoid too much work. :)

    Thanks & +reps!
     
  2. kewlthis

    kewlthis

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    533
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Its a bit tought to say which is better way to do abilities, I quess it also depends on your needs.

    I personally mix quite a lot of data editor and trigger spells. If I can make good looking spell that doesnt lagg in multiplayer with triggers or data editor, I choose triggers (faster to make?, its easier for me).

    And as for grenade like spells, I prefer doing it with data editor, since its hard to make such a smooth looking grenade spell with triggers.

    I dont know how to make the chaing lightning spell, but yes you need to do visual effects with actors.

    I usually do something like this. ACTORS TAB: Create actor type: model, based on model oneshot.

    MODEL ACTOR EVENTS: events+: actorcreation(yourarctor) -> playanimation death, animation done, animname.death (term), destroy

    So when you create your actor with triggers/events. It will diplay the models animation and destroy after the animation is done. You can also create the actor by linking it with actor events like behaviour on -> create, or effect.start -> create.

    I quess I could explain a bit better, but hope it helps. You have to create new actor for every different effect/model you want to display as special effect.
     
  3. Rushhour2

    Rushhour2

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Yep thanks, that helped.

    I am not too familiar with all the different actors and the actor events. But from the tutorials I read I see that there will be quite powerful and countless possibilities to use them.

    Maybe it's stupid to ask it, because I haven't tried anything yet myself, but how would I use the beam actor for this ability? The actor events focus on creation and destruction of the actor if I see that correctly. But there won't be a possibility to react to a trigger event.

    Basic example: A unit uses its ability on a target unit. A huge beam (a former 'lightning') gets created from the unit to its target.

    Ok, now that I think of it, I am pretty sure there exists a way to do this visual stuff in the data editor only. But I feel like I felt when starting with the WC3 editor: Too much stuff! And here I even have 500 buttons and submenus more :-O

    +repped
     
  4. kewlthis

    kewlthis

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    533
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Well im not sure how lightning effects work for actors. Can you link effect from unit to another unit or do you have to do it with weaponns/attack? There certainly is bunch of events you can use.....

    The actor events work the way you want them to work. I havent learned the full potential of actor events yet, I just use them as I need myself....as basic visual effects....

    Indeed there propably isnt a way to detect trigger actions with actor events, but you can use events like behaviour or effect multiple ways. You can even create dummy effects or something like that, the effect doesnt always have to do something (it can be used just for detecting).

    I quess you should read some tutorials or try the actor events yourself, they pretty much work like you expect them to work, when you understand basics of the actors.
     
  5. Renadi

    Renadi

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Idk how the Mutalisk's glave wurm works but that might be a way for you to do all the target searching stuff without triggers, the whole model system in starcraft 2 is still beyond me, but maybe it's a starting point.