• Listen to a special audio message from Bill Roper to the Hive Workshop community (Bill is a former Vice President of Blizzard Entertainment, Producer, Designer, Musician, Voice Actor) 🔗Click here to hear his message!
  • Read Evilhog's interview with Gregory Alper, the original composer of the music for WarCraft: Orcs & Humans 🔗Click here to read the full interview.

Auras Question

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 3
Joined
Apr 22, 2013
Messages
53
So i am a "new" user of the warcraft 3 editor,i have been playing this game for alot of time almost 8 years and i have all the basis and knoledge about it.
I have fiddled with the editor on numerous ocaasion but starting of today i wanted to start doing something worth the time,a simple map using custom heroes.


And here is where my question comes i have made a custom abillity out of devotion aura but i want it to :-Also give regenaration aura besides armor
-I want it to fade immidieatly when out of range not after 1.5 seconds

I know this might be a silly question for some oh you but i'll be glad if someone can help me with this.

I thik it has something to do with the buffs but i coulnd't fiind a solution by myself.

Thx in advance.
 
Level 19
Joined
Mar 18, 2012
Messages
1,716
Like WaterKnight said the standart wc3 abilities in the object editor have strict limitations.
The devotion aura for instance can only give + or - armor to a given target group.

Still a lot is possible, if you take the trouble and code a spell/aura/... by yourself.
If you are starting from zero wc3 coding has a long learning curve, in other words it can't be learned over night.

For beginners there is GUI(triggers) it is some sort of code bricks. One the one hand side it is less efficient, but on the other it is unlikely to run into serious bugs with it.
More advanced and far more efficient is JASS/vJass/zinc and wurst. Actually those aren't really more difficult than GUI to understand, but now you have to take care of correct syntax by yourself.
Even so I recommend to focus on the second one, simply because it has less limitations than GUI.

Welcome to wc3 modding :)
 
Level 3
Joined
Apr 22, 2013
Messages
53
I will probably start coding my own aura from the ground because jass is to much of information for me atm.

I want to thank you all for the answers ,kudos to you all.

Now i have another question,where do i start creating my own aura,it is a special program involved,or do i have to use the triggers or its just a simple right click?

Thx in advance.
 
Level 5
Joined
Jan 27, 2014
Messages
164
> where do i start creating my own aura
There is no way you can create your own original aura per se. You need to base it off an existing aura ability like Endurance Aura, Devotion Aura etc. And then change their behaviours, depending on what you plan to do, using triggers. Of course, you can also use casting buffers like Inner Fire, Acid Bomb etc to do what you want.

Perhaps explaining what you want could help us understand what you need better.


Alternatively, if you meant 'creating own aura' as a new special model with your desired animations, then this cannot be achieved using WE. You'll need modelling softwares. Or perhaps download some existing ones, created by members, here.
 
There is no way you can create your own original aura per se

Sure you can, I did it in AuraStruct >.>.

or do i have to use the triggers or its just a simple right click?

LOTS of very complex code (hence why AuraStruct is so big)

You can do it in GUI, but... you shouldn't >.<. The code will be almost unreadable, almost impossible to manage, and that's if you can even manage to code it (it'd likely be very buggy and near impossible to debug).

You really need vJASS or something for custom auras.
 
Level 3
Joined
Apr 22, 2013
Messages
53
Ok thx for te swift responses hmm to lay it down maybe you understand better.

I am creating an paladin ,some sort of a Battle-Priest : -heals alot tanks alot only melle, and does low dps.
-ideally his role is to tank against melle bosses and stay with the group when ranged boses.

I want to give him am aura that gives in 250 aoe around him massive armor and in 1000 aoe hp regenaration.

It some sort of teamwork against bosses,i know a clishee,but it's my start in the modding.

Why i want to do this > well because i want to add strategy so the paladin has to stay close to the ranged group to give massive armor and boses will have alot of massive aoe in case that happens.

Hope it's enough info.
 
1. stacking auras
2. auras that don't stack (apply the strongest allied aura)
3. auras can only target certain unit types (filter)
4. when an aura leaves area, next strongest gets applied
5. when an aura enters area, if it's strongest, it gets applied
6. when an aura levels up, if it's now strongest, it gets applied
7. when an aura delevels, if it's not the strongest anymore, it gets removed

whenever applying/removing auras that don't stack, be sure to consider

2. auras that don't stack (apply the strongest allied aura)


this turns into a very intense thing, hence why I wrote AuraStruct : P (it was hell to debug)


you need to account for the following events

On Level
On Learn
On Death (does the aura apply during death?)
On Deindex
On Enter Range
On Leave Range
On Tick


You also need to consider

Icon (source vs target)
Ability (enemy vs ally, dual mode!)
Effect art
Attachment points



So we go back to my original post

LOTS of very complex code (hence why AuraStruct is so big)
 
Level 3
Joined
Apr 22, 2013
Messages
53
^ that was kinda disturbing xD i didn't quite understood everything but i maybe have the solution inside the next question.

i want an aura that actually is a combination of Devotion Aura and Endurance Aura,with devotion working inside 250 aoe and endurence working inside 1000 aoe so they both stacks they do the same just if you want both auras to be active you have to get near the paladin.

The big problem is that i want it to be in 1 spell/aura since i can only have 7 spells.

And now the question can i add an 8'th spell to the hero that is gonna be my endurance aura but it's hidden like under move button and it wont appear but will function properly?
 
Level 26
Joined
Aug 18, 2009
Messages
4,097
If you just want this one specific aura, you do not need tremendous systems for it. Just catch the learning of the ability, put the learner in a group, make a periodic event that iterates over that group, for each of these "casters" (who are not currently dead) you pick units in a range around them and filter them. Those are the targets you bestow the bonuses on (via armor bonus and hpregen bonus abilities for example), put them in a separate group too. At the end of the periodic trigger have a third group copying the targetGroup again and before that check what's in the third group but not in the second one. Those are the units that have been picked the last time but not anymore. Those are removed from the third group and been taken away their bonuses.
 
Level 3
Joined
Apr 22, 2013
Messages
53
Yes i want that specific aura only it sounds so simple on the paper i didn't know it's gonna take alot to do it.

I dont know if this is againt the rules or not but if you could make me a base trigger for what you wrote above that if you have time,beucase i might use it and i am so bad with triggers it seems,i tried to make the trigger that gives you more skill points as you level up but i don't know how i manage to fail that aswell so i am like really noob into this.

If youcan help me with this would be awsome,if not than i'l just have to use what you gaved me and try my best.
 
Level 26
Joined
Aug 18, 2009
Messages
4,097
  • Events
    • Unit - A unit Learns an ability
  • Conditions
    • (Learned Hero Skill) Gleich <AuraAbility>
  • Actions
    • Unit Group - Add (Triggering unit) to casterGroup
  • Events
    • Time - Every 0.25 seconds of game time
  • Conditions
  • Actions
    • Unit Group - Remove all units from tempTargetGroup
    • Unit Group - Pick every unit in casterGroup and do (Actions)
      • Loop - Actions
        • Set caster = (Picked unit)
        • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
          • 'IF'-Conditions
            • (caster is alive) Equal To True
          • 'THEN'-Actions
            • Set loc = (Position of caster)
            • Custom script: set bj_wantDestroyGroup = true
            • Unit Group - Pick every unit in (Units within 250.00 of loc) and do (Actions)
              • Loop - Actions
                • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
                  • 'IF'-Conditions
                    • ((Picked unit) is alive) Equal To True
                    • ((Picked unit) is Mechanical) Equal To False
                    • ((Picked unit) belongs to an ally of (Owner of caster)) Equal To True
                  • 'THEN'-Actions
                    • Unit Group - Add (Picked unit) to tempTargetGroup
                    • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
                      • 'IF'-Conditions
                        • ((Picked unit) is in permTargetGroup) Equal To False
                      • 'THEN'-Actions
                        • Unit Group - Add (Picked unit) to permTargetGroup
                        • Unit - Add Item: Armor Bonus (+10) to (Picked unit)
                      • 'ELSE'-Actions
                  • 'ELSE'-Actions
            • Custom script: call RemoveLocation(udg_loc)
          • 'ELSE'-Actions
    • Unit Group - Pick every unit in permTargetGroup and do (Actions)
      • Loop - Actions
        • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
          • 'IF'-Conditions
            • ((Picked unit) is in tempTargetGroup) Equal To False
          • 'THEN'-Actions
            • Unit Group - Remove (Picked unit) from permTargetGroup
            • Unit - Remove Item: Armor Bonus (+10) from (Picked unit)
          • 'ELSE'-Actions
 
Level 3
Joined
Apr 22, 2013
Messages
53
Thx alot,i will ave to fiddle with the numbers but yeah really cool i just have to change the event of the triger since the spells are not learned but exist from the begining,but nvm.

thx alot you rock :D it really helps my isue with aura.
 
Level 5
Joined
Jan 27, 2014
Messages
164
> Sure you can, I did it in AuraStruct >.>.
The key word was 'per se'.
Tell me you didn't base your aura off any WC3 default ability then I'll accept what you've said.

>.>

I might be wrong though. But I can't see your triggers in the snippet so....
 
Level 3
Joined
Apr 22, 2013
Messages
53
@vypur85 i started the main aura by basing it into devotion aura but i couldnt add aura of health regen and add different stats to it,also as somebody mention above auraStruct is broken atm because some bug so i didnt want to take any chances.

This is why i preffer a trigger overall.
 
Level 10
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
601
There is a relatively simple way to add both auras and hiding one of them in a disabled spellbook. This way, only one icon will be shown. Only one aura will be seen and leveled up by the player. Both buffs will be shown on units affected by both auras though (because both auras will actually be in effect). If you're okay with that, then we could explain this method to you.
 
Level 3
Joined
Apr 22, 2013
Messages
53
I can't add a spellbook this is the biggest problem,everything is oriented around a paladin with 7 spells no levels to those spells whatsoever. So there is no level up and i dont have space for my second aura.
 
Level 10
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
601
No no, you don't understand me; the spellbook is not visible to the user and does not take up any icon space. We add one aura to the spellbook and give the spellbook as an ability to the unit. Then we disable the spellbook using triggers. All passive abilities in the spellbook are still in effect for the unit (because this is how spellbooks work).

I've implemented this in an example map. Please take your time and see if this works the way you wanted.
 

Attachments

  • Example Map.w3x
    13.1 KB · Views: 92
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top