Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Attack Range of melee units.

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by envenger, Aug 27, 2013.

  1. envenger

    envenger

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    278
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Is there any way to change the attack range of melee units?

    When I changed the combat - attack range, nothing happens

    When I order the unit to attack any target, it some times stand at 200 range and attacks the target.
     
  2. Rheiko

    Rheiko

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,926
    Resources:
    7
    Icons:
    2
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    7
    your unit is classified as melee units depends on it's range
    melee units is <128 range
    range units is >128 range
     
  3. Malhorne

    Malhorne

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,327
    Resources:
    6
    Spells:
    4
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    6
    So you can set the attack range of a melee to 120 if it's at 100. But it will not really matter...
    But you can set a melee unit to range by adding range and adding missile and changing attack type.
     
  4. envenger

    envenger

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    278
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I made combat acquisition range to 5. Can it be responsible to cause this any problem?
     
  5. Malhorne

    Malhorne

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,327
    Resources:
    6
    Spells:
    4
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    6
    Yes since it will automatically fight when an ennemy come to 5 around the hero.
     
  6. Maker

    Maker

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9,174
    Resources:
    17
    Maps:
    2
    Spells:
    14
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    17
    5 range is very short. You can toggle a grid in the editor by pressing G, the smallest squares are 32x32, medium are 128x128, large ones are 512x512.
     
  7. envenger

    envenger

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    278
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I didn't want the units to get into combat automatically so put it less
     
  8. UndeadImmortal

    UndeadImmortal

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,588
    Resources:
    7
    Maps:
    7
    Resources:
    7
    You need to use a trigger for that, since the acquisition (aggressive) range on Object Editor is the maximum range the unit can have. Ex. if the unit has 500 range while it's acquisition range is only 200, the unit's range will automatically set to 200.
     
  9. DoctorReza

    DoctorReza

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    89
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    acquisition range must never be less than attack range even for ranged heroes set both of them 200 and it will work
     
  10. envenger

    envenger

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    278
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    But it works even if I set acquisition range less than attack range
     
  11. deathismyfriend

    deathismyfriend

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    6,526
    Resources:
    14
    Spells:
    12
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    14
    acquisition range is like a max range. If you have 200 acquisition range and 500 attack range that unit can only attack things within the 200 range. It will not have 500 range for attacks.
     
  12. DoctorReza

    DoctorReza

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    89
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Exactly
    did you try it see if it works?
     
  13. envenger

    envenger

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    278
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    For melee units I guess it is an exception. Cause I didn't went through any of these problems...
     
  14. Xonok

    Xonok

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3,039
    Resources:
    8
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    5
    Resources:
    8
    1. Melee units are any units with the attack type normal. This doesn't depend on range afaik.
    2. Effective attack range is also affected by collision range, to prevent the possibility of a unit not being able to approach another unit to attack it. Furthermore, the reason that melee units have 100 attack range is that with lower ranges they have trouble with hitting moving(escaping) units.

    Effective attack range:
    attacker collision/2 + defender collision + attacker range
    But never more than acquisition range.
     
  15. StoPCampinGn00b

    StoPCampinGn00b

    Community Manager

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,462
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    All that should work, +rep to all the people that helped

    Please put [solved] if you do not need anymore assistance