1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The poll for Hive's 12th Concept Art Contest is up! Go cast your vote for your favourite genie!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. The raddest synthwave tracks were chosen - Check out our Music Contest #12 - Results and congratulate the winners!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Affecting magic invulnerable units with custom ultimates

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Saishy, Sep 9, 2009.

  1. Saishy

    Saishy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    947
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    All my ultimates are triggered, but I'm getting some headaches from magic invulnerable units.
    The easiest is the damage, I fixed with a few modifications on "intuitive damage system".
    The main problem are Crowd Control and Debuffs.

    Example: There is one ultimate that creates a circular area that freezes all enemies inside it, dealing damage and stunning for x seconds.
    The damage is triggered, but the stun is cast by dummy casters, but they don't work on magic immune units.

    I know that any spell that needs lvl 2 or more to learn naturally affects magic immune units, but the dummy caster can't be a hero unit, there is any way to make the spell ignore magic immunity?

    Thanks in advance, and sorry for any grammatical errors.
     
  2. LordDz

    LordDz

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4,308
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Can't you use Unit - set level of ability to 3? Or something..
     
  3. Saishy

    Saishy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    947
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    That will just increase the level of the ability...
    It will not make the ability be able to target magic immune units...

    Are you serious?
     
  4. Saishy

    Saishy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    947
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    By the power of gzus I will make this post go to page 1!
     
  5. Maker

    Maker

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9,193
    Resources:
    17
    Maps:
    2
    Spells:
    14
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    17
    How come the dummy can't be a hero?

    You could just use

    Unit- Pause unit and then create a special effect on the stunned unit. Save the effect and stun duration to hashtable, and add the unit to a unit group. Activate a periodic trigger, and reduce the timer, and save it again. When the timer hits zero, remove the effect and unpause the unit:

    • Stun
      • Events
        • Time - Every 0.25 seconds of game time
      • Conditions
      • Actions
        • Unit Group - Pick every unit in Stun_Group and do (Actions)
          • Loop - Actions
            • Set Temp_Real_1 = (Load (Key time) of (Key (Picked unit)) from Stun_Hash)
            • -------- ------------------------------ --------
            • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
              • If - Conditions
                • Temp_Real_1 Greater than 0.00
              • Then - Actions
                • Set Temp_Real_1 = (Temp_Real_1 - 0.25)
                • -------- ------------------------------ --------
                • Hashtable - Save Temp_Real_1 as (Key time) of (Key (Picked unit)) in Stun_Hash
                • -------- ------------------------------ --------
              • Else - Actions
                • Set Temp_Effect = (Load (Key effect) of (Key (Picked unit)) in Stun_Hash)
                • Special Effect - Destroy Temp_Effect
                • -------- ------------------------------ --------
                • Unit Group - Remove (Picked unit) from Stun_Group
                • Hashtable - Clear all child hashtables of child (Key (Picked unit)) in Stun_Hash
        • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
          • If - Conditions
            • (Stun_Group is empty) Equal to True
          • Then - Actions
            • Trigger - Turn off (This trigger)
          • Else - Actions
     
  6. idodik

    idodik

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    825
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    You can create a dummy ability based on Channel and check the "Universal Ability" thing, I think that'll help.
     
  7. Saishy

    Saishy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    947
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    @Maker
    If the dummy caster is a hero, you would get an icon, some messages, "your hero has died" and many things I don't want to mess now.
    Using pause units to stuns is a big mess, one example would be a short stun after a long stun, the unit will only take the short one. (Of course you can fix that, but I prefer to try simple solutions before using that).

    @idodik
    Ok... But channel does nothing...
     
  8. Muhahahahaaa

    Muhahahahaaa

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    496
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    do you want to stun it because of the movement? because net ignores magic immune units if set in gameplay constants
     
  9. overload119

    overload119

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    362
    Resources:
    3
    Skins:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    I'm not sure about this, but it's worth a shot.

    In my map I was able to UnitRemoveAbility(my magic immunity spell) then add it after the debuffs are finished.
     
  10. Maker

    Maker

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9,193
    Resources:
    17
    Maps:
    2
    Spells:
    14
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    17
    You can remove "Hero has fallen" death message/sound for the unit in object editor. You can also remove the icon and prevent the unit from being displayed in mini map.
     
  11. CrazyKiD

    CrazyKiD

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    (sorry, dunno how to use the trigger wrap)
    Isnt it easier to just make
    Unit Group - Pick all units in x matching x and do actions
    Loop- Actions
    Unit group - Pause(picked unit)

    Wait(stun duration)

    Unit Group - Pick all units in x matching x and do actions
    Unit group - Unpause(picked unit)
     
  12. idodik

    idodik

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    825
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    The point is Channel can choose the targets for you and you can trigger the entire effect of the spell. For example if you want a stun effect there's a spell with an effect similar to a stun called TimeStop somewhere here in the Hive. It's a good spell and I've based a frost spell on it that works perfectly.
     
  13. CrazyKiD

    CrazyKiD

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Okay here u go.
    An ultimate, freezes everything inside the area, damages enemies over time, and affects magic-invulnerable units.


    if there's anything you dislike tell me soon.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Saishy

    Saishy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    947
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    @Muhahahahaaa
    No, I really want to stun it.

    @overload119
    The unit will become vulnerable to spells while stunned.

    @Maker
    That is the best idea so far.
    Edit: I remember now, if you use Expiration timer on a hero, the variables and memory will leak since dead heroes are still ingame.

    @CrazyKiD
    Read one of my posts above, there are some problems using pause unit

    @idodik
    ...That is exactly the point, the ultimate is already based in channel, and I want to avoid pause unit as much as possible.

    @CrazyKiD
    My spell is already done, and I will not use pause unit, thanks anyway ^^
     
  15. CrazyKiD

    CrazyKiD

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    oh, okay then happy mapping!
     
  16. Saishy

    Saishy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    947
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I will try to mess with Maker idea, I blame war3 engine...

    (WoW programmers are heroes, they use war3 engine!)

    Edit: Your spell will not work with my map, because its a 3 step ultimate.
     
  17. akrep_ve_su

    akrep_ve_su

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    300
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Applying "pause" trigger on magic immune units and creating stunn SFX "overhead" of them. Then unpausing them when the effect should lift. This won't work for you?
     
  18. Maker

    Maker

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9,193
    Resources:
    17
    Maps:
    2
    Spells:
    14
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    17
    Hmm..
     
  19. wolfman

    wolfman

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    696
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I know you said the spell is done but just an idea: maybe you could create the dummy hero for neutral hostile so it wouldnt show up for any players. if the target is neutral hostile then you can just make the dummy unit for neutral passive. And to remove the leaks do this:

    Event - A unit dies
    Condition - Unit type of dying unit is Dummy
    Action - Remove dying unit from game
     
  20. Saishy

    Saishy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    947
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    You see... I'm using exactly that right now...


    Strange...