1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The raddest synthwave tracks were chosen - Check out our Music Contest #12 - Results and congratulate the winners!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The poll for Hive's 12th Concept Art Contest is up! Go cast your vote for your favourite genie!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Travel to distant realms and encounter scenes unknown to the common folk. The Greatest of Adventures is upon us with the 8th Cinematic Contest. Join in on a fun ride.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The 18th Icon Contest is ON! Choose any ingame unit and give him/her Hero abilities. Good luck to all.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Contestants are to create a scene set in the Stone Age. Come and see what you can come up with. We wish you the best of luck!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Colour outside the lines! Techtree Contest #13 is a go. The contest is optionally paired.
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Greetings cerebrates, our Swarm needs new spawners that will have numerous children. Join the HIVE's 31st Modeling Contest - Spawners and Spawned! The contest is optionally paired.
    Dismiss Notice
  10. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

A Few Questions About Items

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by BallisticTerrain, Mar 24, 2013.

  1. BallisticTerrain

    BallisticTerrain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    347
    Resources:
    1
    Skins:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    In my map, I have items that you can pick up and they will appear in your hand. I want these items to have abilities bound to them that you can cast. For example, when you press "Q" it would play the animation for and cast the ability for one of the items. I gave the item the ability and set both the item hotkey and ability hotkey to Q, but when i try to use it, Q does not do anything and I have to click on the item and then click on the target and no animation is played. How can I fix this? Rep for helpers.
     
  2. Arhowk

    Arhowk

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,753
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    you can't give item abilities alphaumerical hotkeys, they have to be numpad
     
  3. UndeadImmortal

    UndeadImmortal

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,584
    Resources:
    7
    Maps:
    7
    Resources:
    7
    Unless you download some program to change the numpad hotkeys of the items.
     
  4. Xonok

    Xonok

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3,042
    Resources:
    8
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    5
    Resources:
    8
    That's not a bug, it's meant to work like that.

    However, there's a way to make it work like you want.

    Basically you make a trigger that gives the unit abilities when the unit picks up an item and removes them when the item is lost.
     
  5. Almia

    Almia

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    4,860
    Resources:
    35
    Spells:
    30
    Tutorials:
    4
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    35
    You could give them alphabetical keys,though with Inventory A+ tool
     
  6. best_player_88

    best_player_88

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,131
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    if example map, +rep.
     
  7. Almia

    Almia

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    4,860
    Resources:
    35
    Spells:
    30
    Tutorials:
    4
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    35
    Silly,its just an alternate name for Dota Hotkey
     
  8. Arhowk

    Arhowk

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,753
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    its not a map its just a program that types the numpad button when u type the corresponding char.
     
  9. Almia

    Almia

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    4,860
    Resources:
    35
    Spells:
    30
    Tutorials:
    4
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    35
    Also,i have mistaken. Its just an alternative for the numpad item key because dota players hated this kind of way to use an item
     
  10. Greenwhy

    Greenwhy

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    249
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    just to be clear, would I be correct in saying that it is up to the client to download this tool and that it cannot be embedded into the map file at all?
     
  11. Almia

    Almia

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    4,860
    Resources:
    35
    Spells:
    30
    Tutorials:
    4
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    35
    it can be used by all maps that are running if Inventory A+ is running too.
     
  12. Arhowk

    Arhowk

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,753
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    correct.
     
  13. ZiGOR

    ZiGOR

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Messages:
    569
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    • testitem
      • Events
        • Unit - A unit Acquires an item
      • Conditions
        • (Item-type of (Item being manipulated)) Equal to Orb of Frost
      • Actions
        • Unit - Add Storm Bolt to (Triggering unit)
        • Player - Disable Storm Bolt for (Owner of (Triggering unit))


    • Null Talisman lose
      • Events
        • Unit - A unit Loses an item
      • Conditions
        • (Item-type of (Item being manipulated)) Equal to Orb of Frost
      • Actions
        • Unit - Remove Storm Bolt from (Triggering unit)


    try this :wink:
     
  14. UndeadImmortal

    UndeadImmortal

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,584
    Resources:
    7
    Maps:
    7
    Resources:
    7
    ^Did you test it before posting? It seems that it won't work 'cause you disable the ability when the item is picked up.
     
  15. Arhowk

    Arhowk

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,753
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    please test things before you post them, the ability is disabled so it cannot be cast... only abilities on the command card may be casted via hotkey