1. Are you planning to upload your awesome tool to Hive? Please review the rules here.
    July 9, 2018: The rules for the Tool Section have been revised. Please be sure to read the revisions.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Seek unity between the elements in the 22nd Terraining Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Seize the moment! The 18th Mini Mapping Contest has commenced.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The heavens smile on the old faithful. The 16th Techtree Contest has begun.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

WidescreenRes - Final

Submitted by JakeCake
This bundle is marked as approved. It works and satisfies the submission rules.
This Tool simply changes the resolution in wc3 to the resolution you are using on your desktop and in other applications, without you having to do anything else than download and run the program. You do not have to save the file, just use Open/Run when your browser asks you what to do!

Who should use it?
This program is used for people who can't choose widescreen resolutions in-game because their video card will not allow it in wc3, like me for example!

Optimized for all versions of Windows

Keywords:
screen, wide, widescreen, res, resolution
Contents

WidescreenRes - Final (Binary)

Reviews
Moderator
00:12, 28th Dec 2008 Ralle: Good job.
  1. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,131
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    I do not understand why this tool is needed. It is far safer and easier just to regeditor a fix than run a program that could potentially be dangerous (not that it is).
     
  2. Archangel_Tidusx

    Archangel_Tidusx

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,080
    Resources:
    9
    Models:
    1
    Icons:
    4
    Maps:
    4
    Resources:
    9
    Because more than half of anyone that owns a computer has no idea how do do any of that, and would rather have something simple do it for them.
     
  3. EdwardElric

    EdwardElric

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Sorry that I didn't reply earlier, but I have almost no sparetime left over the last and next weeks :angry:

    I have an Asus G73JH (a Notebook).
    Look here.
    Intel Core i7 720QM 1.6GHz,
    8GB RAM,
    1TB HDD (2x 500GB),
    ATI HD5870,
    Blu-ray,
    Win 7 HP (64 bit)

    Thats very interesting!
    But, then why do people always write about regedit?
    With regedit it is just a stretch (in 1920x1080px, finally for me...)



    EDIT:
    What I noticed, on the 1st page Windows 7 isn't listed...
    Could this be the prob? :wink:

    Here are three screenshots of my results as I said that the exe-fix just stretches my WC3-screen:
    In normal mode (1400x1050x32):
    normal1.jpg
    In your fixed widescreen-mode (1920x1080):
    widescreen1.jpg
    widescreen2.jpg
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2010
  4. Hero_Lief

    Hero_Lief

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,123
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    What it does is stretch textures, because the game engine makes it do that; notice it does not however stretch text. There's no change, because the game engine literally was not meant to render textures properly on a widescreen monitor; they weren't exactly all that popular back in 2002 when the engine was being developed.
     
  5. whiteboy

    whiteboy

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    really good! for me with vista i had it on widescreen already and now it just looks significantly better. nice work!
     
  6. EdwardElric

    EdwardElric

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    After all...

    "Already what I thought, though I gave it a try, but my doubts got confirmed.
    This tool doesn't really change the resolution, it doesn't keep proportions, it just stretches the original resolution to fill up the widescreen.
    In fact it is just like editing the registry.
    Not that I want to badmouth your tool, but the above informations should be mentioned in your description under all circumstances!"
    07-04-2010 10:53 AM

    It stretches everything, except text!?
     
  7. PointlessFight

    PointlessFight

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    This tool worked so great :) Finally Warcraft looks as epic as it is thanks!
     
  8. coolmurphy

    coolmurphy

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    OMG OMG! this totally works!

    gUYS Guys hear me out. This appis awesome it totally works!!! okay! trust me on this one! And its simple,just one click away. At the same time it also tells u ur screen resolution and ur os etc..

    THIS WORKSS!

    Btw i am using Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit.:ogre_rage::goblin_boom:
     
  9. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,131
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Yes so does using regedit and looking at your graphic drivers...
     
  10. Hero_Lief

    Hero_Lief

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,123
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Yeah, but this is simpler for non-tech end users.
     
  11. JakeCake

    JakeCake

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    425
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    True that, this is as simple as it gets, and as simple as it should be - run the app click "okay" once and you're done!
     
  12. Superz_Ze_Man

    Superz_Ze_Man

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    398
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Does this just stetch the screen like retyping the resolution in the text files do? Because when i tried that it looked discolored and strenched/too long?
     
  13. Hero_Lief

    Hero_Lief

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,123
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    If by text files you mean registry, then yes, because that's physically all we CAN do at the current time and place.
     
  14. Superz_Ze_Man

    Superz_Ze_Man

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    398
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    hmm il try it ^^ +rep cause i was bein sorta a biatch :D
     
  15. Hero_Lief

    Hero_Lief

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,123
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Why +rep me? It's not my tool!
     
  16. Superz_Ze_Man

    Superz_Ze_Man

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    398
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    :O too late, Ima go +rep the guy (or girl) who made this lol
     
  17. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,131
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    This tool has been made obsolete with the release of patch 1.25. All widescreen resolutions are now shown and are choosable from the options ingame.
     
  18. PointlessFight

    PointlessFight

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    1920*1280 = NO problem at all!
     
  19. D.O.G.

    D.O.G.

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    348
    Resources:
    38
    Models:
    27
    Icons:
    3
    Packs:
    1
    Tools:
    3
    Maps:
    2
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    38
    However this can be used by those who don't have patch installed.
    And my Wc3 Universal Calculator & Colorizer v5.3 can change resolution too.
     
  20. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,131
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Everyone should have the latest patch installed as that is the only way to play WarCraft III online.

    Hive Workshop only supports the latest patch version of WarCraft III as that is the only version supported by Blizzard. As such this tool is still obsolete and should be removed.