WC3 Item & Skill Designer 0.5.0 - WC3 ISD

This bundle is marked as approved. It works and satisfies the submission rules.
This tool originates from here

WC3 Item & Skill Designer is a tool to create professional item and skill tooltips in seconds!
This tool offers many useful features for mapper.

WC3 Item & Skill Designer ist completely customizable.

For RPG-Creators/Mappers this tool offers a lot of nice features that are used by default (But you can remove them), like Item Quality/Rarity, Item Typ and Required Class for the item.

There are some calulators, like a armor (damage reduction) calculator, damage/dps calculator, effective hp calculator (good for balancing, and with a evasion calulator (stack - cool) and a exp calculator. Just try it out!

And thats not all. There is also a name generator! Generate names for your heros with just a few clicks. Fully customizable.

Woah still more.. There is a w3x import too! (Not done atm).
No need to open world-editor just to edit some items or skills. And maybe even more.
So far i got the import of most of the files done (stuff i need, and stuff i dont need, but maybe will use later) and everything is working. Just need to add the list/edit feature.

Requirements:
Some time for Feedback/Comment/Like :p
OS: Windows XP SP2/3 or later, Linux: with Mono it should work (untested)
CPU: 1,5 Ghz
Ram: 512 MB (or whatever your OS need to run smooth.. The tool itself only needs a few MB)

Here you can see the first video. Its outdated, but the idea behind the tool is still the same. Edit the config to do the magic :)

Here you can see the w3x import and some other stuff:

Here you can see the last added feature, random name gen:

Here you can see the new, "extended" name gen (chars & items)

Always the latest news, and a version with higher limits for friends: Official FB site
http://www.facebook.com/wc3isd

Official website. Some info and download
http://www.t34.at/wc3itemskilldesigner

Official forums - Here you can discuss and leave a comment or whatever.
http://forum.magicforrest.de/viewforum.php?f=41

Please.. check the config tab first. By default there are only "Weapon" and "Armor"... customize it! Add you own stuff! Thats the magic :)

Keywords:
item, creator, designer, tooltip, color, string, warcraft, mapper, tool, skill, exp, damage, calculator, armor, evasion
Contents

WC3 ISD 0.5 'HIVE' (Binary)

Reviews
Vengeancekael Date: 2012/Aug/24 20:46:01 Comment: [Approved] Very useful and easy to use tool, with lots of features! Staff Contact - Rules
Level 7
Joined
Aug 11, 2010
Messages
270
My goodness.

If this program had a import feature it would probably be one of the best programs on the hive; aside from the essentials like the model viewer and icon border creator.

Please finish this spectacular program. 5/5.
 

Deleted member 219079

D

Deleted member 219079

How about not only Weapon and Armor items? For example, a key is not an Armor or Weapon. I would not use it yet. don't stop improving it, I might use it some day. Nice job :)
 
Level 4
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
40
How about not only Weapon and Armor items? For example, a key is not an Armor or Weapon. I would not use it yet. don't stop improving it, I might use it some day. Nice job :)

???
I dont understand what you want..
if you want the typ "Key", just create it in config tab.. ?!?!
This tool is fully customizable.. maybe check the video and then come back if you still have a question.
 

Deleted member 219079

D

Deleted member 219079

???
I dont understand what you want..
if you want the typ "Key", just create it in config tab.. ?!?!
This tool is fully customizable.. maybe check the video and then come back if you still have a question.

Then it's obviously too messy.
 
Level 4
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
40
Could you please be more precisely?
What is too messy? Where you have a problem? (Config -> Add name -> Choose color -> Hit Save) .. ?
You have to spend some time to config the tool, but after this... i think its fine.
I create all my items with this. However, i already have finishd w3x import so i can edit my maps with this tool, no need for WE. But i think even with Copy & Paste it could be a great support.

// Edit: This tool has been used more than 1.200 times already, and you are the first who say its too messy. Just watch the video. Its not that hard. Give it a chance.
 
Last edited:

Deleted member 219079

D

Deleted member 219079

Could you please be more precisely?
What is too messy? Where you have a problem? (Config -> Add name -> Choose color -> Hit Save) .. ?
You have to spend some time to config the tool, but after this... i think its fine.
I create all my items with this. However, i already have finishd w3x import so i can edit my maps with this tool, no need for WE. But i think even with Copy & Paste it could be a great support.

// Edit: This tool has been used more than 1.200 times already, and you are the first who say its too messy. Just watch the video. Its not that hard. Give it a chance.

Okay, magic, let's be more precise. I have few suggestions those explain why I said it's messy.
  1. To the Typ section, make like "..." or "New Typ" next to the list or to the list. I say it wouldn't hurt to make it more compact.
  2. I have got used to the bar including stuff like "File", "Edit", "View", "Layer", "Window", "Help" maybe doing so, that would also help to make it more compact. (I don't care if there is pictures, text or text with pictures)
  3. "All infos on website/forums :)" you kidding me?

Note that these are my opinions about the application. Some may be fine with the current version (I would have link to older versions because of that, referring to "Old versions may not work anymore, so always use the latest version!")

These are not suggestions:
Although I have concerns about would this break the ice, I myself find this decently done. You have a good count of features included in this application and tabbing them was smart way to do.
Reason why I didn't take a closer look to this instead of posting my "messy" comment was to show you that some people are not as careful at first-looks as others (including me :D) Maybe making this more attractive to those people wouldn't hurt.
I myself have tried making an application, barely useful. It was a prank maker, making a fake warning/error window and having a feature to restart/shut down the system and making a beep or looping beeps. My friend tried it, didn't somehow say anything bad about it, even though it didn't hide itself when showing the window :D and wasn't compact at all. So be aware that not everyone say you the negative stuff about your application.

Feel free to discuss the stuff I've said with me, it's okay. I'm not so accurate at making feedback, so you can also highlight stuff I've said. What software did you use to make this by the way? If I get linux on my older computer to work I can test this on it.

I would rate this currently 3 or 4 depending on can I get used to this, but I will not give it a rate before next versions.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Level 4
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
40
First of all.. thanks for your time, and for this posting. :)
There is not many feedback, and if so its kinda short. Noone really takes some time to write (longer) feedback.

To the Typ section, make like "..." or "New Typ" next to the list or to the list. I say it wouldn't hurt to make it more compact.
Its just below the list..? I can add a "..." Entry that will focus the "Add new" Textfield then coubleclicked. Something like this?

I have got used to the bar including stuff like "File", "Edit", "View", "Layer", "Window", "Help" maybe doing so, that would also help to make it more compact. (I don't care if there is pictures, text or text with pictures)
Hm.. so you want a "File" menu bar on the top? Or you mean add more to the buttons? (Or even replace the buttons? No, sry i like them :))

"All infos on website/forums :)" you kidding me?
There are so many features, and every release i add and change so many stuff.. The most Up2Date info you can find on the web, but ill change it to a online based info next release. Would look much better..

I myself find this decently done. You have a good count of features included in this application and tabbing them was smart way to do.
Thanks :)
And there are many new ideas for this tool.. Really cool features.

Reason why I didn't take a closer look to this instead of posting my "messy" comment was to show you that some people are not as careful at first-looks as others (including me :D) Maybe making this more attractive to those people wouldn't hurt.
I added a "First Run" Dialog in 0.4.5, isnt that enough? (I have updated it now so new users really check the Config tab first - if they read this)
Yeah its a bit ugly..
What else should/can i do?
Maybe ill add more sample-data in next release.

I myself have tried making an application, barely useful. It was a prank maker, making a fake warning/error window and having a feature to restart/shut down the system and making a beep or looping beeps. My friend tried it, didn't somehow say anything bad about it, even though it didn't hide itself when showing the window :D and wasn't compact at all. So be aware that not everyone say you the negative stuff about your application.
Yeah, there is much to less feedback.
But people should say what they want, so i can do it.. Dont know why the most dont understand this. :(
Im pretty sure there are many users that run the tool one time, only see weapon and armor and close it. But the others, who read the firstunr or info/watch youtube video... i think they get a good help with this :)
And now with w3x import and soon with hero and skill editor (w3x manipulation) this could be a really cool tool.

What software did you use to make this by the way?
Visual Studio 2010 Express with .Net 2.0

If I get linux on my older computer to work I can test this on it.
Cool, thanks :)

I would rate this currently 3 or 4 depending on can I get used to this, but I will not give it a rate before next versions.
Just tell me what to change, and ill see what i can do :)
Thanks!
 

Deleted member 219079

D

Deleted member 219079

"Its just below the list"
On the first tab? To make new one? Havent seen it D:
I have visual studio too. Pretty simple way to make something without losing life :)
About that info and help on the internet, maybe someone wouldnt have acces to net all the time?
Well yeah I kinda, eh.. skipped that first run thing on my first time launching the tool. I was like, this is just description maker, how hard can it be? But dont hurry making changes, make them from overall suggestions, not on single feedback, referring to "tell me what to change."

I guess only serious problem is to get people use this. At the moment only way I can think of is simplifying it.
 
Level 4
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
40
"Its just below the list"
On the first tab? To make new one? Havent seen it D:
Ah.. i finally understand what you mean. Ii added "..." Links that opens the config tab :)

About that info and help on the internet, maybe someone wouldnt have acces to net all the time?
For now there is no offline version. If a user dont have internet, this tool wont work.
Maybe ill change it in later releases, but for now i want all users to have the latest version. And thats the only way to be sure that everyone is up 2 date.

I guess only serious problem is to get people use this. At the moment only way I can think of is simplifying it.
Im open for all ideas/etc..
 
Level 4
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
40
Thanks Rep+
i like your tools, usefull tools for RPG.
I always need WC3 Item & Skill Designer xD

Tested it then...
[...]
SO HARDCORE! 5/5


Thanks :grin:
If you already like it, u'll love the next release.
So far got import of w3u, w3a, w3t, wts done (You can edit all your item, ability and unit text with this tool. No need to open world edit :) (You can edit the map itself))
And working on all other files a map may have.
(Scripts, AI, and many other cool stuff).
However, i havnt finishd the name generator so far lol
 
Level 6
Joined
May 26, 2010
Messages
213
Great tool 5/5

Edit

Also when do you think version 0.5 will be out. I've only been using this program for a little bit but it has already helped me a ton.
I did find a bug though...

**When I am writing something it will sometimes deselect the box I was writing in after every letter I type. Which makes me have to click it again to add a single letter. It usually stops if I restart the program though.**
 
Last edited:
Level 4
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
40
Great tool 5/5
Thanks :)

Also when do you think version 0.5 will be out. I've only been using this program for a little bit but it has already helped me a ton.
I did find a bug though...
So far i think i have 50% of what i want in version 0.5. Maybe the Name Generator will not work and the Account System will not be implemented, but i want as much w3x edit Features as possible :)
And im open for all ideas!
Maybe i can tell you a release date in a few days or a week, atm i dont have much free time from work so i cant get stuff done. But i try my best.
However, i really want to make a small Release with a lot of Bug-fixes.. But so many stuff not done.. Lets see.
I would like to release a new version this month.

**When I am writing something it will sometimes deselect the box I was writing in after every letter I type. Which makes me have to click it again to add a single letter. It usually stops if I restart the program though.**
Yeah this is a known bug, sorry. The only way you can write more is to disable Auto Refresh of the Preview. You then have to refresh it by click on the refresh button, or hit F5, if you want to see the Preview.
Im still working on a solution, but this is something for version 0.6 or so :D
 
Level 1
Joined
Jun 5, 2008
Messages
151
5/5 Nice program the best I have seen so far, I just hope to see import/export options even if its just to change description of item I dont mind! Keep up good work.
 
Level 4
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
40
5/5 Nice program the best I have seen so far, I just hope to see import/export options even if its just to change description of item I dont mind! Keep up good work.
Thanks :) You will see them soon.
Just some more features and 0.5 will come!

I don't have it
What you dont have? Windows? .Net?

[...]
Very good tool
Thanks. And GL with your tool.

I tried the new version, it still rocks omg... WHY DOES THIS TOOL IS SO COOL?
:grin: And it will get much cooler soon.
With w3x edit, unit designer, upgrades designer, and many other stuff.
(On facebook you can see all new features and infos)

I shall make a cooler editor! and it won't use dot net hehe.
Do what you want. But why you have to tell this here? You cant start your own thread/tool for this?

What is the problem with dot net
It runs on Win, Mac, Linux.. and its working.
I dont see any problem with .Net.
But maybe he will tell us soon - cant wait for the reason why .Net is "bad"(?).
 
Back! .Net works on the other two OS'? That's very cool, and was my biggest argument against using it. However, it still needs the runtime environment, thus it technically the same as Java, which I have a massive beef with.
  • It needs to be ran in a VM of sorts.
  • This provides overhead and 'lag'
  • Automatic memory leak catchers? Those never work well enough to warrant using them.
  • Easier working with C/C++ generally.

Note: This is more prevalent with Java.

Edit: To use a program, I shouldn't have to need another program, when my other programs don't need it.

PS: This is the 2nd best tool I have seen on here.
 
Level 4
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
40
[...] However, it still needs the runtime environment, thus it technically the same as Java, which I have a massive beef with.
For Windows XP SP2 or higher you dont need anything. Its installed by defaullt, and there are million tools thats using .Net.
On Mac/Unix you can use Mono to run this, and because im only using .Net 2.0 you dont need any additional libs or something.

Edit: To use a program, I shouldn't have to need another program, when my other programs don't need it.
Hm.. you know that 90% of games and software install runtimes, (.Net too) etc? I.e.: Photoshop is using VC 2008 rt. And thats just one... there are millions out there.

PS: This is the 2nd best tool I have seen on here.
Thanks :grin:

--

The most users here use windows i think, so im fine with just Windows support too.
Dont think there are sooo many users with unix/mac who map. But i can be wrong...
.Net its maybe a bit slower than native exe but this tool dont need that much cpu/ram, and there are no lags - for this tool .Net is the right coice (for me).

----

Back to topic: Time for feedback guys, send me your ideas for the unit designer or changes/improvements to this tool!
 
Level 6
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
187
Aw, please add the 'skill tab' cooldowns, manacost (when learning), description (when learning AND already learned). Also try to change the color and add hotkeys for the spell. hehe :D

I will wait for v5.0 :D
 
Level 4
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
40
Hehe, I don't use Visual C++ or its runtime either, how do most games unstall a 'runtime'? Can you list well known games that do?
The most games install required runtimes and stuff at setup.
If you google for it you can find many tools and games made with it.
However, why you talk about a game? Are you making a game or a tool? You should decide what it will be, before you start. There is a big difference.
But i think thats completely offtopic, so if you want to talk about this, maybe via pm.
GL with your game. Or tool. Or whatever.
 
Level 4
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
40
Aw, please add the 'skill tab' cooldowns, manacost (when learning), description (when learning AND already learned). Also try to change the color and add hotkeys for the spell. hehe :D

I will wait for v5.0 :D
As you can see (from the screenshot from 0.5) the next version will have hotkeys and "typ's" (they can be used to color the skill name).
The description of learning and learned can only be manipulated at w3x import atm, you want both for the designer too? (no problem ;))
Ill add cooldown!
Thank you! :thumbs_up:


Hey man when will be thee 0.5 going out? and did you saw my post? :p
In around 1-3 weeks. No, didnt saw it, sorry.
I could release 0.5 any time but atm only item and skill w3x edit is implemented. I want to add more stuff before i release a new version.
And the name generator isnt finish´d too....


// Edit: On the facebook page you can get latest news about features and release date.

// Edit2: Btw: You can change to color of skills at the config tab! (General Skill Color).

// Edit3: Looks like there will be a friends only release this weekend! With w3x import and many other improvements and some fixes.
But many stuff not done, thats just a pre 0.5 release ;)
 
Last edited:
Level 4
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
40
How i can increase the limits?
At the current version you cant increase them.
But if you need more tell me where, and maybe ill increase it in the next release.
As soon the account system is done there will be many ways to increase the limits (Share configs/namelists/etc, give feedback/ideas/etc..).
But i dont think that the account system will make it to 0.5.
 
Level 2
Joined
Aug 27, 2012
Messages
11
When you enable to copy feature? I would like to manage all map items with this software but i cant edit itemid and/or copy from map to designer.
 
Level 4
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
40
Ill add it after Language Files.
Atm im working on the first language file, then i need to translate it to german and after this ill finish most stuff, not that much todo left.
But the next public release will take some time, maybe this week or next there will be another friends release and the 0.5 release will come... idk. Lets see how fast i can finish stuff and maybe get some help.
 
Level 5
Joined
May 3, 2008
Messages
126
I could make a few suggestions, the Item generator could use some more values i.e. Stun/Critical/Evasion% and if possible something to list other abilities like Feedback or Flame Strike. The Ability generator could include something for ability type (passive/active) and range (100, 250, 600, single-target, AoE, chain).

That aside this is a great program. I've got no idea how any sort of coding works so I'll not touch that but this is incredible.
 
Level 4
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
40
I could make a few suggestions, the Item generator could use some more values i.e. Stun/Critical/Evasion% and if possible something to list other abilities like Feedback or Flame Strike. The Ability generator could include something for ability type (passive/active) and range (100, 250, 600, single-target, AoE, chain).

That aside this is a great program. I've got no idea how any sort of coding works so I'll not touch that but this is incredible.

Stun/Crit/etc are Boosts - Go to config tab and add a Boost ($int% Crit chance (2x)) or something like this. You can also use this to add "Skills" to a Item. (Just call the Boosts Flamestrike or what you want).
Hope i understand what you mean, if im wrong please tell me.

For the Skill Designer: Active/Passive youll see in the current Facebook Version, or you wait for the official 0.5 release.
Ill add Range/Target!

Thanks :grin: :thumbs_up:
 
Level 4
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
40
Sorry for the thread title, but thats not my fault, read the url, there you can see the whole name. Idk why the thread name is cut.
You dont need the Pro version to import w3x maps, with the current friends version "LikeIt! Version" (on Facebook) you can already do it.
And in the official 0.5 release too. ;)
 
Last edited:
Top