Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Warcraft Modelers: A must have!

Discussion in 'Modeling & Animation' started by Chriz., Dec 5, 2006.

  1. ike_ike

    ike_ike

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    969
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Here ya go. Good luck making it work, I still haven't worked that out. I think that you have to download Python to run it though.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Dark Hunter1357

    Dark Hunter1357

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    778
    Resources:
    29
    Models:
    20
    Icons:
    6
    Maps:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    29
    If i make animation whit 3ds max 5 and i'm animating only vertex points, will the animation export whit the art tools?
     
  3. HappyTauren

    HappyTauren

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8,408
    Resources:
    87
    Models:
    61
    Icons:
    23
    Packs:
    1
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    87
    no . You need to read a tutorial on how to split mesh, you can find it in art tools.
     
  4. mokkil123

    mokkil123

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    169
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    sucks that i use 3ds max 8, means i cant use warcraft art plug:cry:
     
  5. BlinkBoy

    BlinkBoy

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,108
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    4
    Icons:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    StarCraft II Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    3
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    12
    Dex's as good if you know how to use it correctly.
     
  6. The_Elite

    The_Elite

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    53
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    No. 'Dex takes so much longer, requires you to copy massive amounts of code (for bigger models) and i dont think it exports animations well (or so i've been told).
     
  7. Pyritie

    Pyritie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    11,356
    Resources:
    60
    Models:
    30
    Icons:
    9
    Packs:
    3
    Skins:
    12
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    4
    Resources:
    60
    If you use it on 3ds max 8, for example, you just Ctrl+A to select and and Ctrl+C to copy. Once you paste it you have to trim a bit off the top and bottom but the rest is fine.

    But yeah, for animations, dex's script isn't very good at exporting them.
     
  8. Gtcool

    Gtcool

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I just got Autodesk 3ds max 9 and I am a complete noob at it lol! Anyone have a good tutorial or tool to help me out?
     
  9. HappyTauren

    HappyTauren

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8,408
    Resources:
    87
    Models:
    61
    Icons:
    23
    Packs:
    1
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    87
    You are contradicting yourself in a question! How awesome!
    Well, the answer is NO, though you can export .3ds which is importable in many programs.
     
  10. BlinkBoy

    BlinkBoy

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,108
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    4
    Icons:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    StarCraft II Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    3
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    12
    3dsmax users can use the export feuture of dex, no need to copy/paste anything.

    the animations are well exported, though you need to apply the Skin correctly.
     
  11. TDR

    TDR

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,463
    Resources:
    2
    Skins:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    yeah, skinning is the nasty thing...such low poly models are pretty hard to skin so they deform correctly; the system blizzard made, with chopped parts that the engine automatically welds, is quite brilliant for this purpose.
     
  12. BlinkBoy

    BlinkBoy

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,108
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    4
    Icons:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    StarCraft II Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    3
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    12
    Ever tried using the Weight Table? It turns easier than sepparating the meshes, if you know how to do it, no need of envolopes, just select the vertexes, go to weight table click 1 and done, go for the next vertixes.
     
  13. BlinkBoy

    BlinkBoy

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,108
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    4
    Icons:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    StarCraft II Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    3
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    12
    Warforger

    An alternative to Warshape, is Warforger. Warforger is capable to make very good animations and is easier to navegate, as it usesc direct X directly. Yet, unlike 3dsmax, it's can turn into a big pain if you don't know how to animate correctly.

    A program - Page 3 - Wc3campaigns
     
  14. Erkowich

    Erkowich

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    217
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    i guess this post will be removed but if you need 3ds max5, just send a pm and i tell you all ways to get it. (one way to get it is to buy it)
     
  15. Thorneon

    Thorneon

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    341
    Resources:
    11
    Icons:
    10
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    11
    any modeling programs for mac:cute:
     
  16. Pyritie

    Pyritie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    11,356
    Resources:
    60
    Models:
    30
    Icons:
    9
    Packs:
    3
    Skins:
    12
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    4
    Resources:
    60
  17. Thorneon

    Thorneon

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    341
    Resources:
    11
    Icons:
    10
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    11
    thanks! ima use hexagon :)D)
     
  18. ManDraKer

    ManDraKer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Anyone know trueSpace?
     
  19. Uncle Fester

    Uncle Fester

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,477
    Resources:
    124
    Models:
    82
    Icons:
    41
    Packs:
    1
    Resources:
    124
    lol 4 details, tutorials or even ready models on gmax and 3ds programs u could check www.turbosquid.com . this great site provides an all-aroun hlp, models, tutorials, etc. 4 gmax and 3ds. !IMPORTANT!: most of the models on that side r not free available (u have 2 pay 4 them).
     
  20. Danny1994

    Danny1994

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    How to get 3ds Max5 ?
    Can't find it in google =/