1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Ride into the sunset with the 32nd Modeling Contest. The contest is optionally paired. Best of luck, people!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. This adventure has come to an end. Congratulate our heroes in the 16th Mini Mapping Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. From the gates of hell, the 5th Special Effect Contest Results have emerged.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Race against the odds and Reforge, Don't Refund. The 14th Techtree Contest has begun!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

WarCraft III Reforged - Icon Template

Discussion in 'Art and Graphic Designs' started by Moonman, Jan 30, 2020.

  1. Moonman

    Moonman

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Resources:
    3
    Icons:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    UPDATED

    Full tutorial now here:
    [2D Art] - Full Icon Tutorial (Reforged) + ¨tool¨

    As remarked by deepstrasz icons are saved in .DDS format.
    No longer do we have to convert every single one into .blp

    I suggest saving them with these settings (35-50 KB size, almost every pixel stays same as uncompressed):

    upload_2020-2-12_9-52-17.png

    However, you will have to manually enter the correct path in Object Editor.
    For the World Editor cannot yet recognise .dds icons directly...

    upload_2020-2-16_13-50-9.png


    Here are all the types.
    DISBTN consists of multiple layers, so to activate it simply enable the whole group.

    upload_2020-1-31_20-45-54.png

    Let's compare the preset (left) to an original (right):

    upload_2020-1-30_17-0-11.png

    Of course if there are any remarks or questions, post ahead!
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 5, 2020
  2. Moonman

    Moonman

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Resources:
    3
    Icons:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    Updated, now have PASBTN to the best of my ability. Compared with some existing icons, won't be perfect, but both shadow reaches (100% and translucent) are on point.
    Although I must note that not all PASBTN icons from WC3:R files have the same in shadow reach... must be the outsourcing...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 31, 2020
  3. Justicebringer

    Justicebringer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    290
    Resources:
    3
    Icons:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    Wow, this is great! In fact this urged me to get back to icon making! (I wish I knew who to give reputation from phone)
     
  4. Hjorleif

    Hjorleif

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Any chance you can release these to work with Button Manager? If that's even possible.
     
  5. Moonman

    Moonman

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Resources:
    3
    Icons:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    If I even knew what that is =)

    ¨I haven't even figured out why DISBTN doesn't work (using old method with Warcraft 3 Viewer.exe).
    How can BTN work, but DISBTN not... naming is correct, file type identical... sigh.¨

    UPDATE: All works now!

    View attachment 346118

    View attachment 346119
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2020
  6. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    13,228
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Aren't icons .dds now?
     
  7. Hjorleif

    Hjorleif

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    DISBTN is working for me, even with your borders. Are you sure you're renaming the path to "ReplaceableTextures\CommandButtonsDisabled\name.blp"? that's how I fixed it for myself.

    As for .dds, I'm not sure - .blp is still working for me. With these borders, I've been applying them in photoshop, saving as .tga and converting with wc3Viewer and so far everything is working fine.
     
  8. Moonman

    Moonman

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Resources:
    3
    Icons:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    Holy shit, looks like I haven't done this in a while! ^^
    A bit surprised BTN worked without "ReplaceableTextures\CommandButtons\name.blp".
     
  9. Moonman

    Moonman

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Resources:
    3
    Icons:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    Haven't managed the game to recognise them at all in DDS format.
     
  10. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    13,228
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Interesting. Skins are .dds now though.
     
  11. Justicebringer

    Justicebringer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    290
    Resources:
    3
    Icons:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    So I made an icon with this. On the touchpad of my laptop lol.
    Can I post this as a recource? Hive is not yet optimized for Reworked right?
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Moonman

    Moonman

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Resources:
    3
    Icons:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    Sure post your icon, there seems to be a Reforged section, yours might be the very first!

    upload_2020-2-5_11-24-56.png

    However I'm simply unsure what the folks have agreed upon:
    - What size should be standard, 256x256 or 128x128?
    - What file size is even acceptable? (it's not 2008 after all, yet still)
     
  13. Moonman

    Moonman

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Resources:
    3
    Icons:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    You were right! However Object Manager doesn't automatically recognize them... sigh. Need to manually paste the path.
     
  14. Uncle

    Uncle

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2018
    Messages:
    1,011
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I've been looking for this information, thanks!
     
  15. Moonman

    Moonman

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Resources:
    3
    Icons:
    3
    Resources:
    3
  16. Uncle

    Uncle

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2018
    Messages:
    1,011
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I saw, nicely done. I just recolored the mana burn icon from blue to purple!