• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[War3] How popular is it?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 3
Hello everyone.

Today I'm glad to say that I have a new and never done before idea for a Warcraft 3 map. It will take me a lot of time because the map will be big whit a lot of things and also I am a beginner so that is slowing the things.

I am ready to invest a lot of time in this map but some friends told me that I will not have success. Why? Because Warcraft 3 its 60% DoTA, 30% Tower Defense and 10% Other.

My map will be a strategy one, you can capture villages, cities, farms, ports, and other things to increase your income and of course eliminate your enemy. ( I don't want to give more details ) .

So all of these been spoken, how popular is this game? How can I have success ( maybe like Icefrog ). My map will die like the rest ?

Level 9
I'm sorry to sound pessimistic but to become as known as IceFrog it's just impossible... Unless you create a map which will be 100% unique and you will have an army of bots, like the others said, you won't get that much fame.

Although please do continue with your map... believe me that people will still play it, not many, but they will... and if you really make a good one, you might get some renown. Although being a map maker it's an honor itself.

What I'm planning on doing for my maps is using all my computers at home along with my friend's computers to host my maps :>

I can even hijack my school's servers for it ^.^

edit
Not only that, but my grandfather's company owns a large server (100TB), hundreds of computers, and the only private data network in the country ^.^

Level 3