• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

What would it take for a war3 map maker to jump onto sc2?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 6
I've been mapping for a couple of years, I stopped doing so after SC2 came out, but I created my fair share of wc3 maps. Looking at starcraft 2 right now it is really a big big shame that there aren't nearly as many people interested in custom maps/mods like they were in WC3. Why is that in your opinion?

While the starcraft 2 engine is amazing, the editor is both not very user friendly, and not very well made either, having a lot of cryptic fields and little to no documentation to show, but it is a very powerful tool. This combination means that pitfalls run rampant. If someone were to make a really comprehensive guide (or set of guides), aimed at explaining the editor in depth (and not just some sections here and there), do you guys think that would help the starcraft 2 (and maybe the war3) communities jump into mapping? The reason why I'm asking this is because I'm beginning to feel comfortable with the editor, but I see no really good resources online that teach you what it can do and how to do it well, and the few there are are spread over tenths of sites.

I was thinking of starting a series of videos really hammering down on what every little thing means in the editor, and better yet, I could have a series where I just remake warcraft 3 custom maps (with their original creators consent, of course), and go through the whole process of doing so. Do you guys think this could catch on?