1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Units don't fight back

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by mecatronic, Oct 25, 2009.

  1. mecatronic

    mecatronic

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    112
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I'm having a problem with my map recently...

    Some times, the monsters get stuck on nothing (really, they simply stand still doing nothing. They're not even near other monsters) and they don't even fight back when attacked by other heroes.

    I have an anti-stuck systems that always worked, and I always tell the units to attack-move to the goal when they're created, but they sometimes decide to stop running there.

    any ideas of what might be causing this?
     
  2. VergilThazaar

    VergilThazaar

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    599
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    4
    Resources:
    4
    Could you post the trigger(s) or attach the map?
     
  3. reason 3

    reason 3

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,549
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Yes..maybe one of your triggers issues other commands at those creeps?I once had the same problem with my map.My creeps were moving-attacking normally,until i added some spells to them.After they used the spells,they just stucked at this point,cause i were giving them a new order,overwriting the attack/move one.Maybe you have a similar problem?
     
  4. mecatronic

    mecatronic

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    112
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I was told that maybe one computer (I'm referring to the computer slot, not the cpu) controlling so many units (like 200+) could cause this bug, do you guys think it's possible?
     
  5. reason 3

    reason 3

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,549
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    What do you mean?You have an AI playing the units?
    No this shouldn't be it...
     
  6. mecatronic

    mecatronic

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    112
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    No, they all belong to a computer slot, and i've been told that a computer slot can't handle more than 200 units without bugging
     
  7. reason 3

    reason 3

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,549
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    I have never heard of this...i can't tell answer you for sure,but it doesn't sounds logical to me.Why shouldn't the computer be able to hand over 200 units?
     
  8. oxxo

    oxxo

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    lol i can't believe nobody has already said this.

    there is a commonly known issue with the warcraft engine, and when there is too many units bein commanded to move, they get stuck and advance a tiny tiny bit every 4/5 seconds.
     
  9. reason 3

    reason 3

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,549
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    This is true,you can see it in many warcraft maul maps.But mecatronic has another problem...his units just stuck!
     
  10. mecatronic

    mecatronic

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    112
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    can't it be a variation of the same bug?
     
  11. Tau Empire

    Tau Empire

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    875
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    The way your describing this is what most of the people are referring to as a Command Lag, like oxxo said the warcraft engine cannot handle more than 200 units per player. Solution to this, don't give the computer 200 units... just boost up there stats if you think there to weak. The Command Lag effects are: Units are given orders but do not execute them, Units move but stopped at some point, units cannot attack even if there at melee range.
     
  12. mecatronic

    mecatronic

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    112
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Is there a place where I can learn more about this Command Lag you're talking about? I made a quick research and most topics are not certain about the number os units w3 can handle before starts to bug.
     
  13. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,172
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    It only seems to happen when the units are controlled by the same player. You can have 400 units on map by all 12 players and it won't bug.
     
  14. Tau Empire

    Tau Empire

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    875
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    There are many problems with WC3 Engine biggest being command lag which a player can only control a certain amount of units to make the orders excecute properly.

    There is the Graphical glitch were to many imported models are on one screen, this problem is caused usually by the models that have a high poly count.
     
  15. VergilThazaar

    VergilThazaar

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    599
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    4
    Resources:
    4
    Plus, when you play a map in [Single Player] Mode, in order to avoid the Command Lag game speed is automatically reduced, even if it doesn't show in Game Options. (Just a hint :gg:)
     
  16. MGCǂSpectre

    MGCǂSpectre

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,007
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    You could always use a trigger that commands those 'monsters' to move, attack or whatever ever 60 or whatever time seconds with Time - Every XX seconds of game time. If I want a PC/neutral controlled to be attacking and using spells smartly, I always go a series of commands.