1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Dismiss Notice
  5. The Highway to Hell has been laid open. Come along and participate in the 5th Special Effect Contest.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

[Trigger] Unit Spawning In Waves

Discussion in 'Triggers & Scripts' started by Craka_J, Jun 25, 2012.

  1. Craka_J

    Craka_J

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,933
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I'm working on an AoS styled map in WC3. It has been a long time since I've worked on the actual triggers of a map, so I'm extremely rusty. I've also almost never dealt with variables personally, so, I'm having trouble getting units to spawn in waves the way I want.

    HOW IT WORKS:
    Player 1, 2, and 3 are in the same team. Player 6, 7, and 8 are in the same team. They build units in their own sections of the map away from the fighting zone in the middle. Let's say Player 1 creates a Barracks; Each barracks will spawn 2 footmen during Player 1's wave against Player 6's wave. After 1 minute, Wave #2 will spawn (Player 2 vs Player 7) and whichever buildings they built will determine what units spawn during that wave.

    The goal is to pretty much counter your opponent's wave and for your team to ultimately destroy the enemy castle.

    Can I get any help here or do I need to explain what I need help with more?
     
  2. Starquizer

    Starquizer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,526
    Resources:
    6
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    6
    As a quick reminder, you will need a timer(s), and integer variable to track the wave numbers.
     
  3. Craka_J

    Craka_J

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,933
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Yeah, I was pretty sure I needed variables. I just don't know how they work or how to create them the way I want them to function.
     
  4. Starquizer

    Starquizer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,526
    Resources:
    6
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    6
    You may need to search the site for some tutorials, anyway, variables work by saving a certain value that you can recall or edit later when you need. To create a variable press Ctrl+B in the Trigger Editor and a small window will pop up, create a new variable then type a name and choose the type of the variable; the type of the variable will affect what type of data it will store.