• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

UI improvements for the control of big armies?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 6
I love warcraft 3 and it’s focus on micro and precise control of fewer units (compared to other RTS).
However i recently started playing war3 again and one thing is bothering me quite a bit.
In war3 we can’t select more than 12 units at once, meaning we can only reliably give orders to 12 units at a time.

While this is fine for most situations, sometimes it feels very restrictive and outdated when controlling a huge army by using 1-9 key groups.
I really like how unit selection is done in Starcraft 2 – you can have up to 200 units selected at once to order them, and it is all in “tabs” that are easily viewable.

I do not mind seeing only 12 selected units at once as it is a big part of warcraft 3’s micro, but perhaps we could be allowed to “tab” though bigger selected armies just like in starcraft 2.
This would make ordering large armies a lot easier, as an alternative to constantly using control groups 1-9 to repeat the same identical order (usually attack move) to all armies.

Also a button like “select all your military units on the map” (similar to SC2) would truly be awesome, to allow us to instantly select and give orders to our entire army at once (without having to repeat the order X times to all X CTRL squads).
It would also help in selecting newly made units and giving them orders or to include them in existing control groups.

I hope blizzard considers updating the army selection/order part of War3’s UI in the upcoming patches.

Of course the above changes would be optional, you would not be forced to use them (same like in SC2).