• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Trigger learning?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 4
(Especially for triggering experts) How did you learn how to make triggers for spells? I'm not very good at them so far and the tutorials only cover so much. It's also a bit difficult for me to examine already created spells (it's like just showing a student the answers on homework instead of helping them with it). I want to learn more about how to use them to my advantage without having to ask questions on forums.

There will be a jass class, hope soon, which will help in learning.

But anyways, with real projects you always learn best, choose a (small) concept for a map that you think might be fun, and try to create the spells. You will face much problems and methods you need to deal with, and will improve for sure. And the tutorials and forums is only the result of such questions that arises, but never the begining.

Last edited:

Deleted member 219079

D

Deleted member 219079

I admit that it's quite a complicated archive solution, but it's to fight google malware detection. I attached .zip file.

Attachments

• JNGP_209.zip
    47.1 MB · Views: 74

Deleted member 219079

D

Deleted member 219079

Warcraft III doesn't use vJASS. During map load, JASS2 code inside map archive and common Blizzard code is compiled into byte code for JASS VM. vJASS is community-driven syntax that is interpreted by JassHelper, which is made by Vexorian, not Blizzard, and thus not included in the vanilla World Editor. JassHelper, if enabled in the main menu, is automatically run after you save the map with the custom World Editor included inside JNGP, NewGen WE.