• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Setting unit's movement speed to 0 but can still turn. How?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Hey guys! This is my first time posting

I am working on a new map which is a moba just like dota. I have some few knowledge already with
GUI but nothing on Jass.

Anyway, I made a unit which is a neutral monster. I want it to stand still in a zone so I changed its
movement speed amount to 0 but at the same time, I also still want it to turn. Having 0
movement speed loses the ability to turn.
I also dont want to change the game constant to 0 minimum speed and give it a 1 speed because
it's a moba game and if a unit's speed gets reduced to 0 by spamming slowing spells, that will be
imbalance for the game.

TLDR: I want my unit to be able to turn to its attack target without moving away from its position. Any tips, guys?
Thanks in advance

~El

Level 17
One of the easiest ways to accomplish this I can think of is to turn the unit into a building, and then use triggers to manually set the facing angle of the unit whenever it starts an attack.

Alternatively, it may also be worth trying to remove the "Move" ability from the unit via triggers as well.

Level 14
When an unit does not have the move ability it will probably still move when it wants to attack an unit out of range.
so for example a footmen gets close enough to a move speed 1 tower without the move ability for the tower to shoot at it then the footmen flees the tower will probably pursue with its move speed of 1.

Last edited:
Level 2
thanks you guys, i will try these suggestions when I get back to work, just a little busy lately
will update this thread as soon as I did these