• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[JASS] Recreating Damage Event Trigger

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Hello.

I have been meaning to implement a damage detection system in my map that is Hero centric; i.e every player will have 1 Hero, and only damage dealt to the Heroes or their targets will trigger the event. I am not good at Jass Coding or any of the sort, I just use it whenever I need to (removing leaks, etc), so bear with me.

So the rough idea is that every time a Hero is ordered targeting an enemy unit (or automatically acquires one through AI, though not yet implemented in the trigger to come), that target of issued order will added as an "Event - Specific unit (target of issued order) takes damage" to a brand new trigger newly created (HeroAttack...). This trigger HeroAttack... will be destroyed when the same Hero is issued an order targeting a new unit. This is to prevent an endless amount of event stacking on top of a single damage detection event.

Stage%201%20Target%20Trigger.png

However, I am running into issues creating the actions for the new HeroAttack... trigger. The actions should essentially be the following:

Stage%202%20Target%20Trigger.png

All I want for this event is to set which target is attacked and who is the attacker. The trigger "Hero Attack Damage" is then run with the variables already set, where the actual damage bonuses/mitigation happens.