• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

please help me on this question about copyright

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
I was a map builder for years and now I am making some other original games.
Is it legal for me to use some icon resources on hiveworkshop.com .

Level 1
I will give credits to the resources makers certainly.
If it is still not legal, what should I do to get permission.

Level 8
TL/DR: case by case ("icon by icon" and "submission post by sumbission post") analysis. very hard question in fact. i'm tempted to say that if you want total certainty you should ask for a special permission ("can i use your icon in a standalone game").

Since you are concerned about copyright, first i will say this: an icon border is hardly a creative work. If you think it is indeed one or you don't want any chance of trouble (and to indulge in lazyness), you can always use your custom border over the art icon. This can be easily done nowadays.

It is clear that the principal aspect is regarding the art of the icon. The art present in icons submited by the Hive is very heterogenic in terms of their position in copyright law. Which is exactly which is a hard question indeed that i'm not really qualified to answer as absolute truth. Try to use common sense.

You have loose modifications of Blizzard's art (you CAN'T use these, these are reproductions). In my opinion, this would include functional recolors, blizzard icon fixes, etc. No creative value here so these are IP of Blizzard and i doubt they are going to license their work so it is used in a game (compare that to usage made by fanpages).