1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Rubbed the right way, the genie is out of its lamp! The 12th Concept Art Contest Results have been announced.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Race against the odds and Reforge, Don't Refund. The 14th Techtree Contest has begun!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Opening a Map that was used with UMSWE

Discussion in 'SharpCraft & WEX' started by ImmortaL_GoD, Apr 11, 2018.

  1. ImmortaL_GoD

    ImmortaL_GoD

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hello, I seem to be encountering an issue slightly touched upon in this sub, where I just cannot open any of my maps since I used UMSWE on them. I was hoping you could direct me to a way I could access them again. Is there just no way I can open them, since even WEX won't work? Pretty crazy to think so if that is true. Thanks a lot in advance.
     
  2. Donach

    Donach

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Procedure I did was open it in UMSWE, keep removing UMSWE only stuff (like special triggers - those are most likely breaking it), until the map is loadable in both WEX or even normal World Editor (vanilla).

    No conversion tool available unfortunately.
     
  3. Duhcake

    Duhcake

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    287
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Kinda like what Donach said - keep your eye on the error messages you get when you open the map, they're most likely caused by UMSWE only triggers being used in your map. When you're in trigger editor usually the "tooltip" of the trigger has a brief explanation and [UMSWE] in it. Try removing those.
     
  4. ImmortaL_GoD

    ImmortaL_GoD

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thanks for the replies. So to open with that, did you guys have to patch to 1.26?
     
  5. MindWorX

    MindWorX

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    690
    Resources:
    5
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    4
    Resources:
    5
    @GhostWolf has made a tool for this specific problem. I don't know how far along he is in the process though.
     
  6. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,843
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    If you give me your map I can test on it. Essentially my code converts every WEU-specific trigger action to the equivalent Custom Script action.
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2018
  7. ImmortaL_GoD

    ImmortaL_GoD

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Sure thing. Thank you so much in advance.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,843
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    The map uses DestroyTrigger many times, which is a non-issue, however it also uses IsUnitOwnedByPlayer in a condition.
    This is a Jass native, so it cannot be recognized by GUI, but my code also can't convert it to custom script because you can't have custom script in events or conditions.
    I am not sure what to do in this case, the only automated resolution is to change the whole trigger to Jass.

    /edit
    Actually there was a second set of transformations that are supposed to try and convert Jass natives to their equivalent in GUI if there is any.
    In this case it could be replaced with:
    • (Owner of (Some Unit)) Equal to Some Player
    Adding them back will probably solve most of the issues left, but I need to know more about how triggers work.
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2018
  9. ImmortaL_GoD

    ImmortaL_GoD

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Are you able to change the whole trigger to JASS? If so, that is completely fine. Change anything as you see fit.
     
  10. ImmortaL_GoD

    ImmortaL_GoD

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Any updates on the progress on this? Thanks again.
     
  11. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,843
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Sorry, but not yet. I was mostly busy breaking the rest of my code while changing stuff. However, I did think about it, and I believe I more or less understand how GUI works now. I hope to have a passable implementation in the next few days, but we'll see.
     
  12. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,843
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    It is not complete yet, but at this point it already supports your maps and others.
    There is no notice so far saying that GUI was replaced by other GUI, a comment saying so is only added for custom scripts, but if you look you'll see the condition I mentioned a few times.

    I did see it fails to load two resources. Check if that's something on your side or mine, because these maps were also saved with my own MPQ code that has not been tested enough yet.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 1, 2018
  13. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,843
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
  14. ImmortaL_GoD

    ImmortaL_GoD

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Amazing, thank you so much man!
     
  15. Tamplier777

    Tamplier777

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    10
    Skins:
    2
    Resources:
    12
    Hi I have an issue here with Init Advanced Triggers of World Editor Unlimited

    Checking
    Failed to read the triggers file: Error: Tried to get signature for unknown function "initadvancedtriggers"
    Did nothing due to errors
     
  16. Tamplier777

    Tamplier777

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    10
    Skins:
    2
    Resources:
    12
    Upd. Passed when I conveerted Init Adv Triggers into custom script

    But there is another issue. When The map is opened in new WE - custom WEU functions become invalid. Is there any solution?
    for example

    Line 9104 :function TributeGold takes player Commander, player Comp, integer res_amount returns nothing

    Line 9277 :function Commander takes nothing returns nothing
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2018