• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[OpenGL] Help Drawing the MDL

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello! I've been working on a JAVA warcraft 3 model editor/viewer/importer, and I have an in-dev model display window. However, I'm really new to OpenGL and I ran into a bug that I didn't know how to fix:

When the program renders something with an alpha channel, it still writes to the depth buffer, so when it goes to write something else afterward if that thing is behind the alpha layer it still gets hidden as though it were "behind" something.
However, parts of the same geoset that had that alpha channel still show up behind the alpha channel. It's a weird bug, probably due to me not knowing entirely what I'm doing with OpenGL.

Anyone who could help would be well appreciated! :)

Level 29
You didn't set a blend mode, so depth tests are done as normal, no matter what your alpha is.
Here's the basic example of setting a blend mode:
Code:
glEnable(GL_BLEND);
glBlendFunc(GL_SRC_ALPHA, GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA);

Blending is tedious and you are unlikely to get matching results to WC3 (if you do, share your code!), but following are a couple of pointers about rendering WC3 models.

What Magos did (and which I mostly copied while changing a couple of things) was a lot of enabling/disabling depth buffer writes, but it is certainly not correct, and it shows in many cases.

For materials, we create layers and sort them according to their filter mode, and then render every geoset multiple times, once per layer.