1. Are you planning to upload your awesome model to Hive? Please review the rules here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Rubbed the right way, the genie is out of its lamp! The 12th Concept Art Contest Results have been announced.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Race against the odds and Reforge, Don't Refund. The 14th Techtree Contest has begun!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Old Cannon

Submitted by MadseN
This bundle is marked as approved. It works and satisfies the submission rules.
Made this for my first model competition, it got stand, attack, walk and death animation, not the best animated maybe but they work ;)

The model is supposed to look like a old cannon from the old American civil war.
Hope you like it=)

/MadseN

Keywords:
Cannon, old, artillery
Contents

Old Cannon (Model)

Reviews
Moderator
09:58, 12th Apr 2008 General Frank: Model works fine and performs okay ingame.
  1. 09:58, 12th Apr 2008
    General Frank:

    Model works fine and performs okay ingame.
     
  2. HappyTauren

    HappyTauren

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8,408
    Resources:
    87
    Models:
    61
    Icons:
    23
    Packs:
    1
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    87
    Polycount is too high (though I know you are aware of it).
    Skin has no shading.
    Texture name "Smoke" should be changed to something else, as being so simple, can override other smoke textures (if some other model has one).
    Other than that, animations are good, and model looks fine ingame.
     
  3. Devine

    Devine

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,197
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    -damn almost 1000 polycount...
    -try 2 use ingame textures
    -size !!!
    +animations are good
    +looks good ingame

    it looks good but maybe use some units 2 pull it ?
    that would realy make it good. 4/5
     
  4. Sorenkj

    Sorenkj

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    177
    Resources:
    1
    Icons:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    would be good if you could attack some steel somewhere at it, instead of only making the cannon itself having metal...
    3/5 ...
     
  5. London_Dogg

    London_Dogg

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    sry but its crap. -5/5 coz it doesnt work the model is not there
     
  6. HappyTauren

    HappyTauren

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8,408
    Resources:
    87
    Models:
    61
    Icons:
    23
    Packs:
    1
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    87
    No sir, it is just you being a retard.
     
  7. Firelord213

    Firelord213

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    584
    Resources:
    4
    Models:
    1
    Icons:
    3
    Resources:
    4
    Huh , Why is the model saved in a .zi file?
     
  8. HappyTauren

    HappyTauren

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8,408
    Resources:
    87
    Models:
    61
    Icons:
    23
    Packs:
    1
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    87
    Because the name is too long >.> Don't tell me you didn't figure out it is a working zip archive.
     
  9. Firelord213

    Firelord213

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    584
    Resources:
    4
    Models:
    1
    Icons:
    3
    Resources:
    4
    /facepalm , Sorry xD
     
  10. NatDis

    NatDis

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    164
    Resources:
    5
    Models:
    4
    Icons:
    1
    Resources:
    5
    Shorten the name, try to use ingame textures (I'm not sure that a plain black cannon texture exists in the game but the wood certainly exists so that you can decrease the size of the main texture by reducing the dimensions to perhaps 128x128.) a lot of smoke textures exist in WC3. Then, make the geometry more WC3 friendly i.e. lower the polycount. And shorten the name because people might be put off by reading CannonPartAnimation25NewWheelsanimationText9.zi.
     
  11. MadseN

    MadseN

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    214
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Im pritty new to modeling so i don't know how to use ingame textures :bored:

    I'll see what i can do for the next model :cool:

    /MadseN
     
  12. Mechanical Man

    Mechanical Man

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,383
    Resources:
    39
    Models:
    30
    Icons:
    3
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    4
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    39
    I don't get it. Is the same as using custom textures, you just extract them from mpq and use in the same way.
     
  13. Rodor

    Rodor

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    it looks very simple but very good 4/5 keep the good work up!
     
  14. Evil RBA Deedz

    Evil RBA Deedz

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Somethings wrong cant download the it ? its look really cool and i really want it cna it be helped?
     
  15. ArmTheHomeless.RBA

    ArmTheHomeless.RBA

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Me either,, cant download .. a shame
     
  16. Mechanical Man

    Mechanical Man

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,383
    Resources:
    39
    Models:
    30
    Icons:
    3
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    4
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    39
    Thats maybe cuz the name lenght is too long
     
  17. HappyTauren

    HappyTauren

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8,408
    Resources:
    87
    Models:
    61
    Icons:
    23
    Packs:
    1
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    87
    Change an extension from .zi to .zip, brainers...
     
  18. ArmTheHomeless.RBA

    ArmTheHomeless.RBA

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    cool,, now u know what? now tell me how to do that xD
     
  19. Johny F.

    Johny F.

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    309
    Resources:
    5
    Models:
    4
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    5
    i've seen to its a .zi file just at a p and it wil work

    and for MadseN please shorten the name