1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Dismiss Notice
  5. The Highway to Hell has been laid open. Come along and participate in the 5th Special Effect Contest.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

My SC2 Map (heroes)

Discussion in 'StarCraft II Modding' started by overload119, Apr 5, 2010.

  1. Darkness-4ever

    Darkness-4ever

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    763
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I'm pretty sure it won't be for a bit longer, Blizzard announced a SC2 video contest, which I'd seriously doubt they'd release the editor in the middle of it since it would make it a bit unfair to people who have already started work on their videos and realize all their work up until the editor's release is meaningless due to the vast capabilities of the editor, so probably expect it sometime shortly after the contest ends.
     
  2. overload119

    overload119

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    362
    Resources:
    3
    Skins:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    The editor is being released before the end of April. (slated released)

    That is all they said regarding the matter (it was asked during their Twitter conference).

    Cliff heights I have no idea, as that is all done in the actual editor which we don't have access too atm.
     
  3. WOWWARS

    WOWWARS

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    489
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Sc2 mapping is 2x easier but you'll lagg 3x harder.
     
  4. overload119

    overload119

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    362
    Resources:
    3
    Skins:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    Ummm... what?
     
  5. Darkness-4ever

    Darkness-4ever

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    763
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    He's referring to people who have shitty comps and/or shitty internets, by the way can you link me the place you found that statement about the editor's release?
     
  6. redmarine

    redmarine

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,781
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    http://forums.battle.net/thread.html?topicId=23767157319


     
  7. MGCǂSpectre

    MGCǂSpectre

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,007
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    But how do you change the terrain completetly from Lost Temple's jungle/grass to lava ? it looks like war3's change tileselt e.g from grass to snow terrain, where all say grass is converted to its respective snow tiles.

    If you won't release a melee version of that lava map, I want to do it myself to play on lava :)
     
  8. overload119

    overload119

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    362
    Resources:
    3
    Skins:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    This.

    TerrainTexData
     
  9. MGCǂSpectre

    MGCǂSpectre

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,007
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Ok but how exactly? I used Ladik's MPQ editor to open the LT map, deleted the TerrainTextData.xml in Base.SC2data folder of the map and imported the edited xml file where I pasted the script above. When I started a melee game the terrain is the same, grass, water, not lava.

    In the mean time I edited the LT minimap for a lava version, use it if you want.
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 8, 2010
  10. Alevice

    Alevice

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
  11. MGCǂSpectre

    MGCǂSpectre

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,007
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    You dont even have rep and while adding the script in TerranTextData didnt work, yours Alevice changed the terrain! Well here is your first rep, I also +rep overload because he showed in that script which tile best corresponds to the Redstone ones, so I replaced them that way.
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2010
  12. vjeux

    vjeux

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
  13. MGCǂSpectre

    MGCǂSpectre

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,007
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Yeah, thanks but I looked through the files and found it myself. 3 questions:

    Now 3 things
    1) I want to get rid of the green doodads and destructibles /trees, bushes/ that dont fit (yeah Show pic above) but w/o removing minerals and geysers
    2) change the name of the map
    3) add a loading screen (I already added a loading.jpg in Assets\Textures but that's not enough, doesnt load a pic)
     
  14. vjeux

    vjeux

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Look at the Objects file (it's a XML).
    Some of them are in t3FluffDoodads, but since it's a binary file it's hardcore to edit it.

    Look at the GameStrings.txt file

    Open the MapInfo file with a text editor and you will see the path of the file. something like Assets\Textures\loading-xil.dds
    Just rename your file like it. (Or change it but since it's binary it's quite complicated)
     
  15. Alevice

    Alevice

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I'm quite surpriseed that you failed to mention that doodads can be removed with MWE already. Loading screen too, I guess
     
  16. gosho

    gosho

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    pls some create youtube movie whit full instruction how i can do all of these things
    i mean how i can work whit data editor how i can open MPQ file or were i can find MPQ and all of these thing which noobs like me dont know
    pls do this for me
     
  17. Alevice

    Alevice

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Most of this isnt really noob friendly at this point. You might want to wait for the editor.
     
  18. gosho

    gosho

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    ok just trying :D
    one youtube movie maybe can help me :)
     
  19. Alevice

    Alevice

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Well, you oguht to check to learn how to use the following:

    WinMPQ or ladik's mpq editor, so you can open sm2a and sc2data files
    A decent xml ediotr cthat can open all the game data files
    Decent knowledge of XML
    And tons of trial and error. :)
     
  20. MGCǂSpectre

    MGCǂSpectre

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,007
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Done, done and done! Thank you three
    [​IMG]
    There used to be grass on this cliff, all I had to do is remove them from Objects file
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2010