• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

My (many) gaming philosophies.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 15
Let's get the obvious out of the way: I am a gamer. I play games. I review games on Youtube. I've been a gamer since I was five years old, and as such, I've a lot of experience with games. I will use this thread to share with you my many gaming philosophies, starting with the FPS genre. Keep in mind that this thread will be constantly expanding to include more genres of video-gamesl. So... let us begin!

Table of Contents
FPS

Identity

When deciding to make a first-person shooter, developers should think about their game's identity: whether their game will be a fast-paced, twitch-based (Quake style) hyper shooter; a semi-realistic/arcade-like skill-or-team-based shooter; or an ultra-realistic tactical shooter. You cannot try to mix the different archetypes of shooters. Why? Because then the game suddenly loses it's identity. And I don't mean it becomes one of those "its own genre of game" games, like Portal. I mean it becomes a horrendous mish-mash of seemingly good ideas that just doesn't work. A perfect example of this is the upcoming free-to-play FPS "Parabellum" that I was given access to by a buddy of mine. See, Parabellum is a semi-realistic team-based shooter. Guns have a fairly realistic amount of recoil, and players can look down their weapon's sights to aim more accurately. But the movement speed is incredibly fast, and most players just run up to you and spam with a submachine-gun, which just so happens to be super-effective. This is a perfect example of how a lack of identity can ravage an otherwise good shooter.