• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

My First Work

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 3
Hey there, this is my first time ever doing any sort of terrain work and I thought I'd post some of it to see what you guys think.

I know the mountain looks bad but it's part of the map =)

Attachments

• Terrain Screenshot 1.jpg
    Terrain Screenshot 1.jpg
    77.9 KB · Views: 229
  • Terrain Screenshot 2.jpg
    Terrain Screenshot 2.jpg
    86.6 KB · Views: 216
  • Terrain Screenshot 3.jpg
    Terrain Screenshot 3.jpg
    103.2 KB · Views: 223
Level 37
I think these pictures are quite okay because you are beginner! I like the environment.

But when I saw that second picture I started to laugh. It's so funny that you put some trees to mountains! I think it would be better if you make those mountains little smoother and remove those trees! They look like very huge trees or something.

+rep

Level 36
I'm sorry to be like that british guy from american idol, but are YOU happy with them?

-The mountains are jagged and blehhh
-The mountains don't look far away, they just look like snowy rock spikes
-The trees aren't well spaced, and are too small.
-The terrain needs serious smoothing.
-Not enough ground clutter
-End of the map
-Ugly fog color

But hey, ya gotta start somewhere ^_^

Level 34
Well if this is indeed your first terrain, I congratulate you for tile variation, fog, and no Blizzard cliffs.

Too bad you used blizzard trees. And the worst blizzard tree at that. You also used the worst tileset known to man.