• Listen to a special audio message from Bill Roper to the Hive Workshop community (Bill is a former Vice President of Blizzard Entertainment, Producer, Designer, Musician, Voice Actor) 🔗Click here to hear his message!
  • Read Evilhog's interview with Gregory Alper, the original composer of the music for WarCraft: Orcs & Humans 🔗Click here to read the full interview.

Making summon spells have an AOE selection, making units with timed life?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 10
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
420
How do I go about making summon spells like Serpent Ward have an AOE selection? Reason being I want to make a ward with lots of auras and want to show range affected.
Also, how do I make units die after some time? Any way to make their life timed? I will be creating units through triggers and want to get rid of them after 60 seconds. (This unit an unselectable unit with the 'locust' ability only put in for art to compliment the earlier spell's AOE effect)
 
Level 13
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
672
use channel ability as base then set:

Disable Other Abilities: false
Follow Through Time: Your animation time
Option: Visible and Targeting Image
Target Type: Point Target
Area of Effect: Your Aoe Circle

Then make a trigger that summons the unit on the point or create a dummy that has serpent ward ability to cast it on the point.

Here is how to add timed life to a unit.
  • Unit - Add a 60.00 second Generic expiration timer to (Last created unit)
under Unit - Add Expiration Timer
 
Level 12
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
911
Use a dummy AOE ability, say Flame Strike (In case it's Flame Strike it has 0 cast time). Now create another ability based on Summon Bear which summons the ward in 0 AOE and 0 cast range and give it to a dummy ability. Of course, you'll need a custom buff as well.
Now, create a trigger:
  • Events
    • Unit - A unit begins the effect of an ability
  • Conditions
    • (Ability being cast) equal to Summon Ward
  • Actions
    • Set temppoint = (Target point of ability being cast)
    • Unit - Create 1 dummy at temppoint for (Owner of (Triggering Unit)) facing (Random Angle) degrees
    • Custom script: call RemoveLocation(udg_temppoint)
    • Unit - Add a 1.00 second Force of Nature expiration timer to (Last created unit)
    • Unit - Order (Last created unit) to Neutral Beastmaster - Summon Bear
That way the ward summoned will have a nice looking timer on it and not just disappear.
 
Last edited:

Dr Super Good

Spell Reviewer
Level 64
Joined
Jan 18, 2005
Messages
27,258
Why not just spawn one ward unit at the target point.... Far more efficent as no middle dummy needed.

Just do what nerovesper said in his first reply, as that is the easiest way.

Yes some other dummy spells could be used, but is it worth the effort looking for something when another method will work just as well?
 
Level 13
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
672
  • Set Leak_Point = (Target point of ability being cast)
  • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
    • If - Conditions
      • (Level of (Ability being cast) for (Triggering unit)) Equal to 1
    • Then - Actions
      • Unit - Create 1 Level 1 summon for (Owner of (Triggering unit)) at Leak_Point facing Default building facing (270.0) degrees
    • Else - Actions
      • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
        • If - Conditions
          • (Level of (Ability being cast) for (Triggering unit)) Equal to 2
        • Then - Actions
          • Unit - Create 1 Level 2 summon for (Owner of (Triggering unit)) at Leak_Point facing Default building facing (270.0) degrees
        • Else - Actions
          • Unit - Create 1 Level 3 summon for (Owner of (Triggering unit)) at Leak_Point facing Default building facing (270.0) degrees
  • Custom script: call RemoveLocation(udg_Leak_Point)
something like this.
 
Level 10
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
420
Ah thanks. Will try that out tomorrow. What were the triggers under?

I just want something like the Infernal spell (the channel idea would work i guess) that can custom set the size of the aoe. I just want to get rid of the destroy trees and the stun.
 
Level 10
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
420
What category is 'unit level ability' under? Been trying for hours to find it.


Found it under 'interger comparison' when for hours i was looking under boolean. Well thanks, but your advice isn't really noob friendly. Not wanting to sour anything but I ended up asking someone else. and spending a few hours searching the triggers over, time better spent on actual development. I'm in no way condemning anyone, just feeling abit fustrated at the moment. The hive has been a great help, it just failed me this once. Thanks anyway.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top