1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The reforging of the races is complete. Come see the 14th Techtree Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. It's time to choose your horse in the race - the 32nd Modeling Contest Poll is up!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

I just got attacked by malware...

Discussion in 'Computer Tech' started by I)eadnerzhul, Oct 29, 2009.

  1. I)eadnerzhul

    I)eadnerzhul

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,572
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    EDIT: Solved.
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2009
  2. Dreadnought[dA]

    Dreadnought[dA]

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    810
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    First we have to know what malware it is. I was recently attacked by soft stronghold. I used SUPERantispyware FREE EDITION and it worked perfectly.
     
  3. I)eadnerzhul

    I)eadnerzhul

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,572
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I think it was a backdoor agent- downloaded stuff in the background and then tried to lock me out. I can run Windows as an administrator, but every executable I try to run don't work. I tried to use SuperAntiSpyware, but the virus blocked it, along with other free antivirus software I tried to run. I tried to reload the whole PC with Windows XP Black (a cracked version of Windows with important drivers and the like built in already, along with I believe to be virus protection), but my computer wasn't reading it. I logged into administrator, found that it was finally being read, but the virus said "SETUP.exe is a virus, yata yata yata", the same with every other executable. I went into BIOS and tried to run from the CD, but when I got to the "booting list", all I saw was my floppy-disk drive and my hard drive. My dad's coming over with a new hard drive as well as the official Windows XP installation disk, but I have a lot of not-necessarily-important but a pain-in-the-butt to replace files.

    Any way to give myself priviledges in order to use my antivirus software? All it says whenever I try to run the antivirus is that "you don't have proper priveledges" or something or other. Also, I can't run cmd prompt. "This is a virus and you can't use this .EXE" yatta yatta yatta.

    On a side note, it was funny how the virus labled "run32.dll" as a virus.
     
  4. FreshMobster

    FreshMobster

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    115
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Enter Safe-Mode and do all kinds of good-for-you-and-your-stomache wickedry!
     
  5. I)eadnerzhul

    I)eadnerzhul

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,572
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I reloaded the computer. A new question, though. I don't seem to have access to the internet, and I need to download/install drivers. Any suggestions? Oh, and my internet is working fine, the ethernet cord is plugged in, etc.
     
  6. Pyritie

    Pyritie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    11,356
    Resources:
    60
    Models:
    30
    Icons:
    9
    Packs:
    3
    Skins:
    12
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    4
    Resources:
    60
    Try using another computer to download
     
  7. DarkAngelAzazel

    DarkAngelAzazel

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,308
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Format?
    The answer to everything (like 42)

    I would say if the virus really infected EVERY .exe file then you can only format...
     
  8. I)eadnerzhul

    I)eadnerzhul

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,572
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Forget it it, I got all my drivers. My dad got me an ethernet card for temporary slow access, I got Driver Genius, and bam! All done.